Chicago Blue Dolphins

Average rating: 8.8 out of 10 based on 1364 ratings.

What our clients think of us!

The following comments were submitted by our customers when asked to provide feedback on our service. In the interest of transparency, we present these comments as provided except that personally identifiable information has been hidden unless the reviewer has requested their full name be included with the review. No unfavorable comments have been removed.

Report a concern   June 5, 2014 — Rated 10 out of 10 by S.L. Swim Studio
What do you like about our services?

Facility was easy to find, the instructor was great with our two girls and we are very happy with our choice to go with Chicago Blue Dolphins!

Report a concern   June 7, 2014 — Rated 10 out of 10 by H.S. Swim Studio
What do you like about our services?

The instructors are wonderful and the facility is clean.

Report a concern   June 5, 2014 — Rated 10 out of 10 by A.S. Swim Studio
What do you like about our services?

I love Kordian. He is great at explaining swimming.

Report a concern   May 25, 2014 — Rated 10 out of 10 by M.M. UIC Physical Education Building
What do you like about our services?

Very professional and organized.

Report a concern   June 3, 2014 — Rated 10 out of 10 by T.S. Swim Studio
What do you like about our services?

Ease of scheduling and great instructors.

Report a concern   May 31, 2014 — Rated 10 out of 10 by M.R. Swim Studio
What do you like about our services?

Very helpful and cobsiderate

Report a concern   May 28, 2014 — Rated 9 out of 10 by L.M. Swift Elementary School
What do you like about our services?

attention to individual student

Report a concern   May 28, 2014 — Rated 10 out of 10 by S.R. Swift Elementary School
What do you like about our services?

Great instructor

Report a concern   June 4, 2014 — Rated 10 out of 10 by K.R. Swim Studio
What do you like about our services?

Good Teacher

Report a concern   June 3, 2014 — Rated 9 out of 10 by A.M. Swim Studio
What do you like about our services?

size of the classes and location

Report a concern   May 31, 2014 — Rated 9 out of 10 by A.M. Swim Studio
What do you like about our services?

The train is excellent

Report a concern   May 26, 2014 — Rated 9 out of 10 by S.S. Swim Studio
What do you like about our services?

Small group, kind teachers

Report a concern   June 5, 2014 — Rated 10 out of 10 by J.G. Swim Studio
What do you like about our services?

My children First name removed & Ben loved the temperature of the water and the personalities of the instructors.

Report a concern   June 3, 2014 — Rated 10 out of 10 by B.G. Swim Studio
What do you like about our services?

Maureen our instructor was wonderful and very patient. She made me believe I would really get over my fear and learn to swim. I will need to call tomorrow about the charges. Although I informed the person making my charges that I had been promised a rate of $219.00 each for two seniors,, I was charged more will call tomorrow for clarification.
First name removed Grayling

Report a concern   June 2, 2014 — Rated 10 out of 10 by A.N. UIC Physical Education Building
What do you like about our services?

Quality facilities and multiple days of availability

Report a concern   May 28, 2014 — Rated 9 out of 10 by J.O.R. Swim Studio
What do you like about our services?

great instructors, good lesson plan

Report a concern   May 26, 2014 — Rated 9 out of 10 by L.R.S. UIC Physical Education Building
What do you like about our services?

Great instructors!

Report a concern   May 21, 2014 — Rated 10 out of 10 by W.H. Swim Studio
What do you like about our services?

Personal attention, comfortable pools, friendly staff

Report a concern   May 23, 2014 — Rated 10 out of 10 by J.G. Swim Studio
What do you like about our services?

The constant attention to the getting the kids swimming strategy down packed

Report a concern   May 23, 2014 — Rated 9 out of 10 by T.D.G. Swim Studio
What do you like about our services?

Consistent instructors, good lessons

Report a concern   May 23, 2014 — Rated 9 out of 10 by C.U. UIC Physical Education Building
What do you like about our services?

Attention to detail, friendly staff.

Report a concern   May 21, 2014 — Rated 10 out of 10 by S.B. UIC Physical Education Building
What do you like about our services?

Great coaching st,aff

Report a concern   May 19, 2014 — Rated 9 out of 10 by T.R. Swim Studio
What do you like about our services?

The size of the class

Report a concern   May 19, 2014 — Rated 7 out of 10 by A.L. Swim Studio
What could we do to improve?

Bring costs down slightly...$72/month is very steep for the half hour weekly class. Somewhere around $60/month would be much more easy to swallow. The high monthly cost will ultimately be the reason we discontinue our lessons with Blue Dolphin.

Additionally, the facilities are very cramped and tight. There are no lockers in the locker room and only two showers and one bathroom stall. People's belongings, towels, and shoes are strewn about everywhere. There is simply not enough room for 10 students and their parent/s to be in the facility at once (one class of 5 arriving and one class of 5 leaving...not to mention if the other pool is being used as well).

Scheduling 5 students in a class is not reasonable. The pools are much too small to have 11 total people in them. Often we are bumping into other people and not getting the full experience deserved (and paid for). Classes should be maximized at 4 participants total.

The cleanliness of the facility has greatly diminished since we began taking instruction over a year ago. The bathroom/locker room floors are not mopped in between classes, resulting in dirty wet floors all throughout the facility. In fact, over the last few months I have found cheerios in the shower, and one week, we were greeted by a dirty diaper on the floor of the shower as we opened the curtain to wash up after class. It was quite repulsive.

Two weeks ago, I reported large amounts of broken crushed glass all over the sidewalk and in front of the entryway outside. The person at the desk told me that Blue Dolphin isn't the owner of the building so there wasn't anything they could do about it except call "CJ." I don't know or care who "CJ" is, but if you are holding classes for children and charging quite a substantial amount for those classes, should cleanliness and safety really be issues parents have to deal with? I was ready to ask for a broom so I could go out there myself and clean it up, and would have done so if my son wasn't looking forward to his class starting in 10 minutes.

To end on a positive note, Coach Trisha and Coach Rachel have been amazing. My son looks forward to seeing them every week and talks about them frequently.

-Matthew
Phone number removed
Email address removed

Report a concern   May 20, 2014 — Rated 8 out of 10 by P.E. UIC Physical Education Building
What could we do to improve?

Is sounds terrible to say, but better directions. I found the building without a problem, but once inside, the place is a maze and the UIC desk attendant directed me to a polo match.

Report a concern   May 8, 2014 — Rated 10 out of 10 by L.R. Swim Studio
What do you like about our services?

Friendly staff

Report a concern   May 18, 2014 — Rated 10 out of 10 by B.A. UIC Physical Education Building
What do you like about our services?

Staff make first time swimmers feel comfortable and safe. The ratio of staff to students is excellent.

Report a concern   May 15, 2014 — Rated 10 out of 10 by H.M. Swim Studio
What do you like about our services?

it is easy to makeup classes

Report a concern   May 14, 2014 — Rated 0 out of 10 by A.R. Swim Studio
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

I was very disappointed by my first lessons. I was not told it was a smaller pool/tub but that was not the main issue. I had already taken a first lessons elsewhere which I informed my instructor and for my first session only learnt how to float on my back....we spent 20/30 mins trying to figure out why I could not flutter kick and it was due to the current and additional complexity of trying to get my legs up in it.

Long story short, the instructor kept trying to get me to kick without pinpointing the problem and 50 minutes later I still cannot accomplish it. Compared to my other private session (taken elsewhere) I learn how to breathe, float on my front, stop in water, flutter kick and do a heart shaped breaststroke.

Very disappointed with my session.

Report a concern   May 11, 2014 — Rated 7 out of 10 by C.B. Swim Studio
What could we do to improve?

Enforce the no shoes policy in the swim room. I've even seen the staff walk through the facility in their shoes. Consider providing single-use, disposable flip flops (like manicure salons use) for people who forget.

Consider also providing progress reports (verbal is OK) for the parent/guardian of child students. My niece has been attending Blue Dolphins since January, and it seems that she's performing the same drills each week. I do not have a sense of whether or not she is improving/learning nor what she could do in between classes to sharpen her technique.


Privacy Policy