Chicago Blue Dolphins

Average rating: 8.8 out of 10 based on 1319 ratings.

What our clients think of us!

The following comments were submitted by our customers when asked to provide feedback on our service. In the interest of transparency, we present these comments as provided except that personally identifiable information has been hidden unless the reviewer has requested their full name be included with the review. No unfavorable comments have been removed.

Report a concern   May 25, 2014 — Rated 10 out of 10 by M.M. UIC Physical Education Building
What do you like about our services?

Very professional and organized.

Report a concern   May 23, 2014 — Rated 9 out of 10 by T.D.G. Swim Studio
What do you like about our services?

Consistent instructors, good lessons

Report a concern   May 28, 2014 — Rated 10 out of 10 by S.R. Swift Elementary School
What do you like about our services?

Great instructor

Report a concern   May 26, 2014 — Rated 9 out of 10 by L.R.S. UIC Physical Education Building
What do you like about our services?

Great instructors!

Report a concern   May 23, 2014 — Rated 9 out of 10 by C.U. UIC Physical Education Building
What do you like about our services?

Attention to detail, friendly staff.

Report a concern   May 20, 2014 — Rated 8 out of 10 by P.E. UIC Physical Education Building
What could we do to improve?

Is sounds terrible to say, but better directions. I found the building without a problem, but once inside, the place is a maze and the UIC desk attendant directed me to a polo match.

Report a concern   May 21, 2014 — Rated 10 out of 10 by S.B. UIC Physical Education Building
What do you like about our services?

Great coaching st,aff

Report a concern   May 21, 2014 — Rated 10 out of 10 by W.H. Swim Studio
What do you like about our services?

Personal attention, comfortable pools, friendly staff

Report a concern   May 8, 2014 — Rated 10 out of 10 by L.R. Swim Studio
What do you like about our services?

Friendly staff

Report a concern   May 18, 2014 — Rated 10 out of 10 by B.A. UIC Physical Education Building
What do you like about our services?

Staff make first time swimmers feel comfortable and safe. The ratio of staff to students is excellent.

Report a concern   May 19, 2014 — Rated 9 out of 10 by T.R. Swim Studio
What do you like about our services?

The size of the class

Report a concern   May 14, 2014 — Rated 0 out of 10 by A.R. Swim Studio
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

I was very disappointed by my first lessons. I was not told it was a smaller pool/tub but that was not the main issue. I had already taken a first lessons elsewhere which I informed my instructor and for my first session only learnt how to float on my back....we spent 20/30 mins trying to figure out why I could not flutter kick and it was due to the current and additional complexity of trying to get my legs up in it.

Long story short, the instructor kept trying to get me to kick without pinpointing the problem and 50 minutes later I still cannot accomplish it. Compared to my other private session (taken elsewhere) I learn how to breathe, float on my front, stop in water, flutter kick and do a heart shaped breaststroke.

Very disappointed with my session.

Report a concern   May 10, 2014 — Rated 9 out of 10 by N.G. Swim Studio
What do you like about our services?

friendly, daughter enjoys it so far

Report a concern   May 9, 2014 — Rated 5 out of 10 by M.K. Swift Elementary School
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

The classes do not teach my toddler how to swim. They were good when he was 18 months, but are not helpful now that he is 3 and ready to learn.

Report a concern   May 19, 2014 — Rated 7 out of 10 by A.L. Swim Studio
What could we do to improve?

Bring costs down slightly...$72/month is very steep for the half hour weekly class. Somewhere around $60/month would be much more easy to swallow. The high monthly cost will ultimately be the reason we discontinue our lessons with Blue Dolphin.

Additionally, the facilities are very cramped and tight. There are no lockers in the locker room and only two showers and one bathroom stall. People's belongings, towels, and shoes are strewn about everywhere. There is simply not enough room for 10 students and their parent/s to be in the facility at once (one class of 5 arriving and one class of 5 leaving...not to mention if the other pool is being used as well).

Scheduling 5 students in a class is not reasonable. The pools are much too small to have 11 total people in them. Often we are bumping into other people and not getting the full experience deserved (and paid for). Classes should be maximized at 4 participants total.

The cleanliness of the facility has greatly diminished since we began taking instruction over a year ago. The bathroom/locker room floors are not mopped in between classes, resulting in dirty wet floors all throughout the facility. In fact, over the last few months I have found cheerios in the shower, and one week, we were greeted by a dirty diaper on the floor of the shower as we opened the curtain to wash up after class. It was quite repulsive.

Two weeks ago, I reported large amounts of broken crushed glass all over the sidewalk and in front of the entryway outside. The person at the desk told me that Blue Dolphin isn't the owner of the building so there wasn't anything they could do about it except call "CJ." I don't know or care who "CJ" is, but if you are holding classes for children and charging quite a substantial amount for those classes, should cleanliness and safety really be issues parents have to deal with? I was ready to ask for a broom so I could go out there myself and clean it up, and would have done so if my son wasn't looking forward to his class starting in 10 minutes.

To end on a positive note, Coach Trisha and Coach Rachel have been amazing. My son looks forward to seeing them every week and talks about them frequently.

-Matthew
Phone number removed
Email address removed

Report a concern   May 15, 2014 — Rated 10 out of 10 by H.M. Swim Studio
What do you like about our services?

it is easy to makeup classes

Report a concern   May 11, 2014 — Rated 7 out of 10 by C.B. Swim Studio
What could we do to improve?

Enforce the no shoes policy in the swim room. I've even seen the staff walk through the facility in their shoes. Consider providing single-use, disposable flip flops (like manicure salons use) for people who forget.

Consider also providing progress reports (verbal is OK) for the parent/guardian of child students. My niece has been attending Blue Dolphins since January, and it seems that she's performing the same drills each week. I do not have a sense of whether or not she is improving/learning nor what she could do in between classes to sharpen her technique.

Report a concern   May 5, 2014 — Rated 8 out of 10 by J.S. UIC Physical Education Building
What could we do to improve?

Nothing! It's just the dilapidated building and the difficult parking that are the problems.

Report a concern   May 7, 2014 — Rated 9 out of 10 by A.J. Swim Studio
What do you like about our services?

The coach was very helpful.

Report a concern   April 29, 2014 — Rated 9 out of 10 by D.A. Swift Elementary School
What do you like about our services?

The start of the small details about breathing and floating techniques.

Report a concern   May 2, 2014 — Rated 9 out of 10 by K.Q. UIC Physical Education Building
What do you like about our services?

Professionalism and courtesy

Report a concern   May 4, 2014 — Rated 10 out of 10 by L.F. Swim Studio
What do you like about our services?

Everything! People are great. Schedule is great. Facility is great!

Report a concern   May 1, 2014 — Rated 7 out of 10 by J.M. Swim Studio
What could we do to improve?

Bigger changing room and more one on one teacher time. Also, more focus on survival swimming skills.

Report a concern   April 13, 2014 — Rated 9 out of 10 by M.K. UIC Physical Education Building
What do you like about our services?

Instructors provide great lesson plans and feedback. Overall, it's a higher quality of professionalism than what I've experienced with other swim groups.

Report a concern   April 29, 2014 — Rated 9 out of 10 by D.B. Swim Studio
What do you like about our services?

Elston location is great. Good for kids just starting. Unfortunately, they don't have deep water at this location.

Report a concern   April 28, 2014 — Rated 7 out of 10 by O.Y. UIC Physical Education Building
What could we do to improve?

Getting to the small pool is inconvenient especially when carrying an infant and bags for swimming. The locker room is also very far from the pool

Report a concern   April 27, 2014 — Rated 7 out of 10 by M.H. Swift Elementary School
What could we do to improve?

The instruction looked good, and the class size was nice, only 3. The information e-mail received stated I needed to buy a swim cap for my daughter with long hair. The instructors were surprised to see her come in a swim cap. they thought a swim cap might be useful for a kid with short hair long enough to get in the eyes, and too short to pull back. They thought my daughter would be fine with pony tails, to keep her hair out of the filter and out of her eyes. It seems to be a rule that no one follows. In addition, she was cold after 20 minutes and shivering. I don't know whether to invest in a swim shirt or wet suit, or just do this for a month and then go back to lessons at the EAC in Evanston - where the pool is warmer. She likes her girly girl swimsuits, so I don't know if she'd put up with a wet suit. I like that this is a convenient drive from home, but this problem of getting too cold may be an issue.

Report a concern   April 23, 2014 — Rated 9 out of 10 by S.K. Swim Studio
What do you like about our services?

Friendly instructors and staff. Heated pools

Report a concern   April 16, 2014 — Rated 10 out of 10 by M.T. Swim Studio
What do you like about our services?

Very friendly staff. Knowledgeable instructors. Clean facility.

Report a concern   April 28, 2014 — Rated 9 out of 10 by L.D.M. Swim Studio
What do you like about our services?

Well organized process to provide information, schedule personal appointments/group classes and receive payments. Instructors are punctual and they understand and care about my personal goal


Privacy Policy