Chicago Blue Dolphins

Average rating: 8.8 out of 10 based on 1338 ratings.

What our clients think of us!

The following comments were submitted by our customers when asked to provide feedback on our service. In the interest of transparency, we present these comments as provided except that personally identifiable information has been hidden unless the reviewer has requested their full name be included with the review. No unfavorable comments have been removed.

Report a concern   August 25, 2019 — Rated 10 out of 10 by A.D.G. Swim Studio
What do you like about our services?

Individual attention, coach focused on the specific skills for each student and frequent skills assessments sent to parents

Report a concern   August 24, 2019 — Rated 10 out of 10 by D.S.K. Swim Studio
What do you like about our services?

Commitment, Expertise, great results

Report a concern   August 16, 2019 — Rated 8 out of 10 by L.C. Swim Studio
What could we do to improve?

Keep the classes smaller (3-4 max) and for the full time. Many classes with one coach start 3-5min late and end 5min early which really limits the time

Report a concern   August 15, 2019 — Rated 10 out of 10 by F.H. Swim Studio
What do you like about our services?

Such a great place to learn how to swim. My 11 month old son has been in class for just a few months now and has picked it up pretty quickly. He liked being in the water, so we signed him up for something to do. I'm surprised how much he's learned in such a short time. He can hold his breath under water and he kicks his legs and paddles his arms. It's too cute. Coach Fitzpatrick and Coach Anna are great. Both are very kind, patient and informative. The facilities are always clean, and rescheduling is really easy. Which is nice because life can be unpredictable with a little one.

Report a concern   August 7, 2019 — Rated 10 out of 10 by H.C. Swim Studio
What do you like about our services?

Coaches knowledgeable and helpful with road blocks

Report a concern   August 5, 2019 — Rated 10 out of 10 by L.T. Swim Studio
What do you like about our services?

the team is easy to talk to - esp when schedules change

Report a concern   August 4, 2019 — Rated 10 out of 10 by S.P. Swim Studio
What do you like about our services?

Nice and friendly

Report a concern   August 2, 2019 — Rated 8 out of 10 by T.H. Swim Studio
What could we do to improve?

Space is just alil small and cramped like but instructor was nice and welcoming

Report a concern   August 1, 2019 — Rated 10 out of 10 by R.C. Swift Elementary School
What do you like about our services?

The instructors are awesome

Report a concern   August 1, 2019 — Rated 10 out of 10 by R.K. Swim Studio
What do you like about our services?

First lesson was great, small class size, very patient and knowledgeable instructor!

Report a concern   July 31, 2019 — Rated 10 out of 10 by D.D. Swim Studio
What do you like about our services?

Great interaction with kids!

Report a concern   July 31, 2019 — Rated 9 out of 10 by C.C. Swim Studio
What do you like about our services?

The instructor was very patient with me which I really enjoyed. I'm hoping to come back soon!

Report a concern   July 30, 2019 — Rated 10 out of 10 by K.H. Swim Studio
What do you like about our services?

Fitz was very supportive and methodical about his instruction. He has a great, easy-going way about him that makes learning from him so much easier.

Report a concern   July 27, 2019 — Rated 10 out of 10 by D.G. Swim Studio
What do you like about our services?

Flexibility, feedback, patient and professional instructors.

Report a concern   July 27, 2019 — Rated 2 out of 10 by N.N. Swim Studio
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

The class is only 25-30 min and no playtime in water after. It takes longer to get there. Not worth it.

Response from Swim Studio:

I'm the owner of Chicago Blue Dolphins. I was going through the Listen360 reviews today, and I wanted to follow up with yours. You said:

The class is only 25-30 min and no playtime in water after. It takes longer to get there. Not worth it.

Unfortunately, we have to keep classes running in our pools at all times. It's an expensive proposition to run a Swim School in the city of Chicago. Unlike Y's, health clubs, or the Chicago Park District, we don't have other programming or monthly membership dues to offset the cost of the pool. Every minute of pool usage costs the same amount for us in terms of staff, administrative overhead, and facility costs. If we extended the class 15 minutes for play time, we would need to increase the cost of the class 50% to reflect that additional time, and I don't think that's what you had in mind.

One important question that I had for you: Did our website or any conversations on the phone lead you to believe that there would be free time after the class included in the cost of the class? I want to make sure we aren't falsely setting expectations.

In that 25-30 minutes, I feel that you and your kiddo will get the best swim instruction for infants and toddlers in the Chicago area. We run a gentle, play-based program that gets children relaxed, happy, and ultimately able to do some great long swims in the water. The class will also teach you as a parent how to be a great spotter, so you have productive time when you go to the pool as a family. Sadly, it's just not cost effective for us as a business to provide open swim or have stretches of downtime in our pools.

As far as the time to get to the class, I understand. I'm a parent of a 10 year old, and my wife and I have had to make similar analyses of programs in the city. I think we're worth the trip, but perhaps I can point you to a swim school closer to home. I don't have an address on file. Where are you located?

I'm sorry that the class didn't work out for you. Please let me know if I can be of any additional assistance.

Fitz

Report a concern   July 24, 2019 — Rated 0 out of 10 by M.S. Swim Studio
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

The lack of consistency with instructors as well as no flexibility with make up days had us stop coming for swim lessons. I will never recommend Blue Dolphins to other parents. Coach Fitz was the only instructor and person who worked there who seemed to care.

Response from Swim Studio:

I'm sorry that you were so disappointed with my company. Unfortunately we had some turnover at the beginning of the year. Unlike previous years, we don't get much notice, so we were in some situations where we were shuffling coaches around more than I'd like. Your experience is not the kind of consistency that I like as our standard.

It is our policy that make-ups need to be done during the monthly session, so CJ Brooks, my office manager, was right that we couldn't put your registration on hold and allow you to make up your classes. We put coaches in the pool and set aside time for our classes under the assumption that we are holding space for a student. We offer classes 7 days per week in the morning, afternoons, evenings and weekends, so that's the best that we can do for make-ups. It's unfortunate that you couldn't do make ups at any other time, but we have a wait list for the weekend spots and we can't have them run at no charge. I hope you can understand my need as a business owner to make sure that we are putting valuable pool time to use.

Having said that, we will refund all of your tuition with us. It appears that we already refunded 1 1/2 months, so this will clear your account. I hope you can find this to be an acceptable solution.

Fitz

Report a concern   July 23, 2019 — Rated 10 out of 10 by K.C. Swim Studio
What do you like about our services?

Excellent, focused teaching with no pressure

Report a concern   July 23, 2019 — Rated 10 out of 10 by C.B. Swim Studio
What do you like about our services?

People, pricing and program

Report a concern   July 22, 2019 — Rated 10 out of 10 by S.S. Swim Studio
What do you like about our services?

small class size, small and warm pool for toddlers, good instructor

Report a concern   July 21, 2019 — Rated 10 out of 10 by A.A. Swim Studio
What do you like about our services?

the instructors!

Report a concern   July 21, 2019 — Rated 10 out of 10 by M.C. Swim Studio
What do you like about our services?

The instructor had been nurturing while maintaining expectations with my kids which has really helped them learn. Hey

Report a concern   July 3, 2019 — Rated 9 out of 10 by H.F. Swim Studio
What do you like about our services?

The infant classes were a lot of fun! My daughter made a lot of progress even though she was less than a year old.

Report a concern   July 9, 2019 — Rated 7 out of 10 by L.M. Swim Studio
What could we do to improve?

Appointment logging both in person and on the phone. The system online is confusing enough, but when I call in to make an appointment, the last two times it’s fallen off the list or someone overwrote the time. It’s unacceptable.

Report a concern   July 7, 2019 — Rated 10 out of 10 by S.T. Swim Studio
What do you like about our services?

The office staff is great! They get back to you right away and it's very easy to schedule lessons. The instructors are friendly and make the lessons fun for the kids.

Report a concern   July 7, 2019 — Rated 9 out of 10 by H.E. Swim Studio
What do you like about our services?

Our child went for his first lesson the other day and Coach Fitzpatrick was wonderful. Very comforting and supportive to both our son and the other toddlers/parents in the class. The variety of activities just to get the little ones used to the water was also wonderful.

Report a concern   July 13, 2019 — Rated 10 out of 10 by M.L. Swim Studio
What do you like about our services?

The environment is calm and warm. This is the first year both kids have loved swim lessons and look forward to their time every week. We have been to another popular swim school and neither kid wanted to go, even though my daughter loves swimming.
The instructor, MG, is great with the kids and progresses them each week. My son was a bit scared of swimming but his confidence has grown so much after just 2 sessions. And both kids can’t wait to go back each week.

Report a concern   July 8, 2019 — Rated 10 out of 10 by G.V. Swim Studio
What do you like about our services?

My coach Karen is extremely patient and precise and amicable with her instructions.

Report a concern   July 7, 2019 — Rated 5 out of 10 by M.N. Swim Studio
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

It was our first experience at a swimming school with our 2 year old. From the moment we entered the facility:
1- There was no welcome or sign up here at the front desk. We handed them our waiver form which was not asked and we could have walked away without the need to hand it over. There was no information given to us about who would the instructor be, where to go or how things work at the swim studio.

2- we informed the instructor (we assumed he was the instructor as he seemed to be giving directions) that we are completely new to this experience and he handed us off to two other instructors who were conducting the class today.

3- there was no instructions given on how to make our child feel comfortable in the water, how we can calm him down or what to do just to have him participate some way in the class.

We felt like outcasts in the class, it was not comfortable that we had to think of ways to engage our child when there are experts in the room. We are not sure if this is how every swim school operates and would like to look elsewhere.

Report a concern   July 21, 2019 — Rated 5 out of 10 by M.V. Swim Studio
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

I WONT BRING MY KID BACK TO THAT DIRT
160$ for 3 people only 50 min and with the conditions
BE GLAD THAT I DIDNT THROW A BUNCH OF GOOGLE REVIEWS ON YOU
THANK YOU

Report a concern   July 21, 2019 — Rated 5 out of 10 by R.V. Swim Studio
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

DIRTY
DIRTY
DIRTY
AND TO EXPENSIVE FOR THIS CONDITIONS


Privacy Policy