Mathnasium of Portsmouth
14 Potomac Rd
Portsmouth
RI 02871
United States

Average rating: 9.7 out of 10 based on 60 ratings.

What our customers think of us!

The following comments were submitted by our customers when asked to provide feedback on our service. In the interest of transparency, we present these comments as provided except that personally identifiable information has been hidden unless the reviewer has requested their full name be included with the review. No unfavorable comments have been removed.

Report a concern   February 4, 2018 — Rated 10 out of 10 by J.C. Mathnasium of Portsmouth
Thank you! Please tell us more about your great experience with us.

We’re very happy with the assistance that Mathnasium provided us during the past seven months. Doug and his team of dedicated tutors helped my son overcome the areas where he was lacking knowledge so that he could move forward with his learning. With the center’s help my son’s math confidence skyrocketed. Couldn’t have done it without them!

Report a concern   December 8, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by D.J. Mathnasium of Portsmouth
Thank you! Please tell us more about your great experience with us.

Doug and his team are great! I really appreciate him communicating directly with my son’s teacher to be sure he’s getting tutored on the appropriate topics.

Report a concern   November 27, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by E.W. Mathnasium of Portsmouth
Thank you! Please tell us more about your great experience with us.

It's been a great experience for my daughter so far! Thank you!

Report a concern   October 27, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by K.C. Mathnasium of Portsmouth
Thank you! Please tell us more about your great experience with us.

Have already referred some people

Report a concern   August 23, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by M.B. Mathnasium of Portsmouth
Thank you! Please tell us more about your great experience with us.

We love everything about Mathnasium. Doug and his teachers are all very professional and work beautifully with their students. The atmosphere is quiet and pleasant and very conducive to learning. Our 10 y.o. son has been a student at Mathnasium for a little over a year now, and his math abilities and confidence have greatly improved. We are very strong advocates of Mathnasium!
The Brown Family

Report a concern   August 9, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by K.T. Mathnasium of Portsmouth
Thank you! Please tell us more about your great experience with us.

We are so happy that our two teenage daughters attend Mathnasium! We initially won a scholarship through our middle school years ago.

We have witnessed such progress that we decided to keep going forward with the tutoring, reaching three years now. Our children have greatly improved their grades up to B plus and A plus. One daughter has been accepted into an accelerated math program within our Middle School.

Overall, it has improved their confidence and attitudes towards Math. I highly recommend sending your child to Mathnasium in Portsmouth, Rhode Island!

Doug Stearns and his staff are very committed to providing the best tutoring so your child can succeed!!
Name removed

Report a concern   August 7, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by L.W. Mathnasium of Portsmouth
Thank you! Please tell us more about your great experience with us.

We LOVE Mathnasium of Portsmouth! Doug and his staff have been so amazing working with our son. We started him in the program in June and he was at a mid 4th grade level. He has made wonderful progress in two months and is loving math now. He looks forward to his sessions because Mathnasium makes it fun and helps build our son's confidence in his learning!
We will and have recommended Mathnasium already! If you have a kiddo needing help in math, this is the place :)

Report a concern   August 4, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by V.T. Mathnasium of Portsmouth
Thank you! Please tell us more about your great experience with us.

Both our boys (ages 10 and 12) have enjoyed their summer experiences at Portsmouth's Mathnasium. It makes sense to keep them stimulated during the summer break so they're not spending the first 2 months back at school relearning last year's math. What's even better is they actually LIKE going to mathnasium!....this is in stark contract to other education services we've tried in the past. Thanks Doug Sterns for your terrific management!

Report a concern   August 3, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by S.S. Mathnasium of Portsmouth
Thank you! Please tell us more about your great experience with us.

Flexible and engaging staff!!

Report a concern   August 3, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by J.C. Mathnasium of Portsmouth
Thank you! Please tell us more about your great experience with us.

Seeing my son gain confidence and successfully grasp concepts that he was previously having difficulties with is amazing. I'm impressed by each tutor who has work with my son and the feedback we receive after each session. Each interaction we've had has been positive. The initial assessment testing allowed the center to identify what areas needed immediate attention and that's where they started. We plan on continuing the tutor through the school year to keep our son on track and give him the extra assistance he needs. I highly recommend Mathnasium!

Report a concern   July 27, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by R.W. Mathnasium of Portsmouth
Thank you! Please tell us more about your great experience with us.

You know the program is successful when your child wants to go back every week.... throughout the summer!

Doug and his staff have a terrific learning environment.

Report a concern   July 27, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by M.B. Mathnasium of Portsmouth
Thank you! Please tell us more about your great experience with us.

My 2 children have had excellent experience at Mathnasium and I would highly recommend their services, staff is knowledgeable, always courteous and accommodating to child's needs. Would highly recommend to anyone who needs help with math

Report a concern   July 19, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by S.S. Mathnasium of Portsmouth
Thank you! Please tell us more about your great experience with us.

Mathnasium has been a pleasure to deal with. They are professional, efficient and provide an excellent quality of tutoring tailored specifically for your childs needs. It is not inexpensive, but I consider it money well spent as an investment in my son's future. He received decent grades in math, but I knew he did not have a thorough understanding of the required math concepts. This summer we are turning that around!

Report a concern   June 3, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by Conley Zani Mathnasium of Portsmouth
Thank you! Please tell us more about your great experience with us.

I think both my boys are really getting the enrichment they wanted - thank you!

Report a concern   May 12, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by J.N. Mathnasium of Portsmouth
Thank you! Please tell us more about your great experience with us.

The program is well run. My son's confidence and performance in Pre AP Calc greatly improved. We are very satisfied with our experience with the tutors and Mathnassium. Thank you!

Report a concern   May 11, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by Kimberly Keene Mathnasium of Portsmouth
Thank you! Please tell us more about your great experience with us.

My daughter has raised her grade from 66 to 90 in Pre-Algebra in just 3 weeks. We are so grateful to Mathnasium staff for all their support and personalized learning plans.

Report a concern   May 9, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by S.C. Mathnasium of Portsmouth
Thank you! Please tell us more about your great experience with us.

My daughter enjoys going to class very much and has learned a great deal in a friendly and comfortable environment.

Report a concern   May 2, 2017 — Rated 8 out of 10 by C.C. Mathnasium of Portsmouth
What can we do to improve your Mathnasium experience?

There are many nice things to say about M, but we used Mathnasium to prep for the SAT only to find out there was subject matter on the test that M didn't realize or prepare my student for.

Report a concern   April 30, 2017 — Rated 7 out of 10 by J.B. Mathnasium of Portsmouth
What can we do to improve your Mathnasium experience?

Open more flexible hours. Consistent tutors.

Report a concern   April 24, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by E.W. Mathnasium of Portsmouth
Thank you! Please tell us more about your great experience with us.

Our son is the second year at the Mayhnesium. The results of an excellent work of the instructors are obvious - our son's grade and comfort in math increased from C+ to B+

Report a concern   April 4, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by T.F. Mathnasium of Portsmouth
Thank you! Please tell us more about your great experience with us.

Mathnasium has been a pretty good supplementary study time for my daughter and she has made some very good progress in terms of her ability to recognize and solve word problems, something I have been quite worried about. The schedule was pretty flexible and Doug Stearns has been very flexible with our schedule.

Report a concern   March 20, 2017 — Rated 8 out of 10 by J.B. Mathnasium of Portsmouth
What can we do to improve your Mathnasium experience?

The times were difficult for us due to our sons school schedule in Warwick.

Report a concern   March 9, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by William Kelly Mathnasium of Portsmouth
Thank you! Please tell us more about your great experience with us.

Not enough space here or time to tell you all how thankful we are. Straight A's for our son for two years. Great people and fantastic owner, Doug.

Bill Kelly

Report a concern   February 21, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by J.K. Mathnasium of Portsmouth
Thank you! Please tell us more about your great experience with us.

We are extremely happy with Mathnasium. It is a great learning atmosphere and our child is more confident when completing math assignments. It has been a tool for success in math.

Report a concern   February 14, 2017 — Rated 8 out of 10 by D.A. Mathnasium of Portsmouth
What can we do to improve your Mathnasium experience?

I was under the impression that Mathnasium would work with my child's math teacher and have contact with what they are doing in class.

Report a concern   February 2, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by K.E. Mathnasium of Portsmouth
Thank you! Please tell us more about your great experience with us.

The atmosphere is very conducive to learning. Its clean and bright and there is space for the kids to spread their work out. The teachers are knowledgeable and patient and seem very good at engaging the students.

Report a concern   January 20, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by S.T. Mathnasium of Portsmouth
Thank you! Please tell us more about your great experience with us.

My daughter has gone from a C in math to an A-. Mathnasium is a big part of that improvement.

Report a concern   December 12, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by Louis Maroto Mathnasium of Portsmouth
Thank you! Please tell us more about your great experience with us.

Bradley was out of school the other day ill.

His teacher told him that he did not need to make up the math work that they had the day before.

Bradley asked why and his teacher said that he was confident that he would be fine.

Bradley is now feeling more and more sure of himself these days.

This is due not only to the reinforced skills, but the fact that he is learning math skills from more that one individuals.

I believe the above is key in his ability to learn the math with greater ease (From many different perspectives).

Keep up the great work.

Thank you,

Luis & Andrea Maroto

Portsmouth, RI

Report a concern   December 6, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by James Acheson Mathnasium of Portsmouth
Thank you! Please tell us more about your great experience with us.

Increased her confidence and skills. She enjoyed going back every every time!

Report a concern   November 22, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by Cristine Mills Mathnasium of Portsmouth
Thank you! Please tell us more about your great experience with us.

My daughter has always struggled with math. After just a few session at Mathnasium, I could see that she was already gaining more confidence in herself. She went from dreading math to enjoying it. The staff is always friendly and helpful. She had been home schooled for the last 5 years and started high school this year. We were worried that the transition was going to be difficult, but she has been doing great. Her first semester final grade in Math was an 106%. Thank you Mathnasium for giving her the confidence and the skills she needs to excel in what once was a difficult subject for her.


Privacy Policy