The Bankside Health Club
Unit 10 Blue Fin Building
Southwark
London SE1 0SU
United Kingdom

Average rating: 7.4 out of 10 based on 1481 ratings.

What our members think of us!

The following comments were submitted by our customers when asked to provide feedback on our service. In the interest of transparency, we present these comments as provided except that personally identifiable information has been hidden unless the reviewer has requested their full name be included with the review. No unfavorable comments have been removed.

Report a concern   January 19, 2018 — Rated 9 out of 10 by J.S. The Bankside Health Club

friendly staff and good facilities.

Report a concern   January 19, 2018 — Rated 8 out of 10 by R.M. The Bankside Health Club

The towels are bit thin.

Report a concern   January 18, 2018 — Rated 8 out of 10 by J.C. The Bankside Health Club

Better spacing within the men's changing room. Every lunchtime is really challenging to a) find a locker and then b) to try and find room to get changed when you find a locker

Report a concern   January 18, 2018 — Rated 6 out of 10 by J.M. The Bankside Health Club

The gym needs to be cooler, which can be fixed by just turning on the ceiling fans every morning. Sometimes they are on and sometimes not and it is frustrating to have to ask all the time and unhealthy to run in hot conditions, especially when the gym is crowded. Some of the desk staff do not even know how to turn the fans on at all. The free weight section is too crowded and not very welcoming. In general, I don't think your use of space makes much sense. The area with the workout stations was better just being a free space. The gym is very small and gets easily crowded at peak times but not sure you can do much about the size of the gym but possibly reorganize a bit better. In my view, the gym is really designed for those who need a PT or a class to stay motivated and not for an individual who would like easy access to free weights and a safe and healthy climate in which to run. The main advantage for me is that they gym is near my flat.

Report a concern   January 18, 2018 — Rated 5 out of 10 by N.L. The Bankside Health Club

Thought the audio equipment for the trainer was very poor quality. It was very hard to hear what she was saying and didn't have enough clarity. Needs a better head set and speakers in the group cycling room.

Report a concern   January 17, 2018 — Rated 8 out of 10 by C.K. The Bankside Health Club

Better cleaning in studios. They are filthy with dust balls flying around.

Report a concern   January 17, 2018 — Rated 10 out of 10 by A.L. The Bankside Health Club

Staff are all amazing. So friendly and caring. Being a one wage earning father I struggle to afford it's. All the trainers are always happy to help provide assistance. When I have the money I will certainly be using them for one 2 ones. Reception is lovely. Used to be so frosty under previous manager. All the new staff are just warm and welcoming. Mike is doing a great manager looking after this gym. Very lucky to have this gym. Name removed

Report a concern   January 16, 2018 — Rated 0 out of 10 by D.S. The Bankside Health Club

Crowded weights area. Shower facilities needs doing up. Exercise classes rooms are not soundproof. Need to either get more machines or restrict membership at peak hours. Going here only due to convenience of location.

Report a concern   January 16, 2018 — Rated 5 out of 10 by T.H. The Bankside Health Club

Not enough machines in the evenings
The WiFi also did not work as there were too many people trying to sign on so I couldn’t go into my workouts online. Was my first time in the gym and was not the best experience. Hoping it will be better next time

Report a concern   January 16, 2018 — Rated 8 out of 10 by M.S. The Bankside Health Club

Improve changing rooms, showers and water points.

Report a concern   January 16, 2018 — Rated 9 out of 10 by M.M. The Bankside Health Club

Lots of classes, and the possibility to book online

Report a concern   January 16, 2018 — Rated 7 out of 10 by L.T. The Bankside Health Club

Not being punished for being late to classes - we pay to be there and have work commitments!

Showers in better working order

Sauna and steam room working more often

Newer more powerful straighteners

More water stations

Report a concern   January 16, 2018 — Rated 8 out of 10 by V.A. The Bankside Health Club

Really dire changing rooms

Report a concern   January 15, 2018 — Rated 0 out of 10 by P.T. The Bankside Health Club

Wattbikes are almost unusable. The Headunits aren't being manually charged. The men's showers are filthy.

Report a concern   January 13, 2018 — Rated 8 out of 10 by K.H. The Bankside Health Club

Fix the TV's on the treadmills please!

Report a concern   January 12, 2018 — Rated 8 out of 10 by R.U. The Bankside Health Club

A digital scale would be really nice since with the scale we have right now in the women’s locker room, I can’t figure out exact how much I weigh.
Also the alcohol sanitizing spray is missing a lot of times

Report a concern   January 12, 2018 — Rated 10 out of 10 by H.C. The Bankside Health Club

Really good range of classes and quantity of classes per week

Report a concern   January 12, 2018 — Rated 8 out of 10 by R.P. The Bankside Health Club

Something very small, but perhaps some air fresheners in the changing rooms.

Report a concern   January 11, 2018 — Rated 10 out of 10 by G.V. The Bankside Health Club

location. PTs.

Report a concern   January 11, 2018 — Rated 6 out of 10 by L.B. The Bankside Health Club

Showers a bit grubby and classes get booked up so quickly i can never book the ones i want even 4 days in advance. Not sure how you remedy this though as only so much space! Would be great to try some funky new classes too - especially HIIT stuff.

Report a concern   January 11, 2018 — Rated 4 out of 10 by P.W. The Bankside Health Club

Too many of the running machines are constantly out of service. Plus the stretching areas have been consumed by classes and/or personal trainer activity.

Report a concern   January 11, 2018 — Rated 10 out of 10 by I.L. The Bankside Health Club

Loving how the reception staff never ignore members on arrival and are always smiling and approachable. The gym floor is generally clean and well maintained and the yoga / body balance class I attend are really good. Great gym!

Report a concern   January 11, 2018 — Rated 10 out of 10 by K.I. The Bankside Health Club

All the classes, the location, and the affordability.

Report a concern   January 11, 2018 — Rated 9 out of 10 by E.S. The Bankside Health Club

I like that there are multiple areas, the weight machine section is good but could do with a little more selection.

Report a concern   January 11, 2018 — Rated 7 out of 10 by S.C. The Bankside Health Club

I took a year break from Bankside gym and when i rejoined it seems the same equipment that was faulty and broken just seemed to have the same problems and out of order. You'd think within a year they would permanently fix it or replace it completely.

Report a concern   January 11, 2018 — Rated 7 out of 10 by L.K. The Bankside Health Club

More short 30 min classes at lunchtimes.

From 12-2 - there used to be more but these have now been replaced.

Report a concern   January 10, 2018 — Rated 5 out of 10 by L.G. The Bankside Health Club

A lot of machines are broken
Music too loud
Too many people pushed aside when a class happens

Report a concern   January 10, 2018 — Rated 2 out of 10 by R.G. The Bankside Health Club

1) how clean it is
2) the quality of the equipment

Report a concern   January 10, 2018 — Rated 5 out of 10 by A.D. The Bankside Health Club

A lot of the TVs on the machines don’t work

Report a concern   January 10, 2018 — Rated 8 out of 10 by J.M. The Bankside Health Club

The shower facilities


Privacy Policy