Hip Expressions Belly Dance Studio
2033 54th Ave N.
St. Petersburg
FL 33714
United States

Average rating: 9.7 out of 10 based on 543 ratings.

What our clients think of us!

The following comments were submitted by our customers when asked to provide feedback on our service. In the interest of transparency, we present these comments as provided except that personally identifiable information has been hidden unless the reviewer has requested their full name be included with the review. No unfavorable comments have been removed.

Report a concern   December 9, 2013 — Rated 10 out of 10 by S.R. Hip Expressions Belly Dance Studio
What do you like about our services?

Very professional. good ambiance and they make you feel very welcome :-)

Report a concern   January 24, 2014 — Rated 2 out of 10 by T.B. Hip Expressions Belly Dance Studio
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

We signed up for the "Painted Lady" class during the Suncoast Burlesque Festival and the class was canceled. We were told our money would be refunded and it never was.

Response from Hip Expressions Belly Dance Studio:

Yes I'm sorry we had to cancel due to instructor severe illness. We initiated the return the same day; however it was a Saturday, so I bet the banks did not even *start* to process it until Monday and it takes them several days. Of course, they will take your money immediately, but to return it, they take their time... :P

Report a concern   January 20, 2014 — Rated 9 out of 10 by I.P. Hip Expressions Belly Dance Studio
What do you like about our services?

I liked very friendly people. Particularly, the teacher for whom bely dance is more than just a job.

Report a concern   November 20, 2013 — Rated 9 out of 10 by B.B. Hip Expressions Belly Dance Studio
What do you like about our services?

Variety of classes

Report a concern   November 22, 2013 — Rated 10 out of 10 by L.F. Hip Expressions Belly Dance Studio
What do you like about our services?

The studio is beautiful and the staff is so incredibly warm and welcoming!

Report a concern   November 10, 2013 — Rated 3 out of 10 by Z.B. Hip Expressions Belly Dance Studio
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

Your Zumba class is ok, but not great :-( I have been doing Zumba for years, and some other studios have more challenging & energetic Zumba classes, and also pricing is better. Only reason I did the $30 trial membership, is because $16 for a drop-in is just too much.

Response from Hip Expressions Belly Dance Studio:

I saw your feedback about our Zumba class and firstly want to thank you for being honest with us! I know that every teacher has a different style and students tend to resonate with one or another, but of course want to improve our classes as much as possible. My understanding is that you did not find the class challenging enough of a workout? I'd love to learn more; was it too much waiting between songs, were the choreographies too easy, was the pace too slow, etc...
Yes there are definitely less expensive Zumba classes out there, our rates are higher because our students also come to the other classes we offer, especially belly dance which is our specialty.
I see your Trial Membership expires on Dec 1st, and I am copying our Studio Manager Marcy on this so she can extend it for another month to Jan 1. You are welcome to come try some of our other classes, or even give Zumba another chance. For instance, I know that the Nia class is very similar to the Zumba in structure, as a cardio dance class. It does utilize more martial arts, modern dance, and tai chi instead of the Latin influence and it is a lot of fun if you are looking for more aerobic dancing to get your cardio in! I also recommend Dawn Storm's yoga classes, since they have more of a workout/flow focus.
Thanks for your feedback, and hope to see you around soon. Let me know if you have any further questions and I look forward to hearing back from you!
Shimmy OM,
Johanna

Report a concern   November 13, 2013 — Rated 10 out of 10 by V.R. Hip Expressions Belly Dance Studio
What do you like about our services?

The great healthy, happy, inviting environment! The décor is beebleautiful. Teachers are very knowledgeable, making it easy to learn.

Report a concern   November 13, 2013 — Rated 10 out of 10 by O.S. Hip Expressions Belly Dance Studio
What do you like about our services?

Classes and the shows.

Report a concern   October 13, 2013 — Rated 10 out of 10 by S.A. Hip Expressions Belly Dance Studio
What do you like about our services?

Great instructor, Kimberly Freed, and staff. Nice atmosphere in studio. Variety of classes offered.

Report a concern   October 23, 2013 — Rated 10 out of 10 by S.R. Hip Expressions Belly Dance Studio
What do you like about our services?

I like the friendliness of staff. also that it is easy to sign up and attend class. Your studio is beautiful too.

Report a concern   October 19, 2013 — Rated 10 out of 10 by L.S.C. Hip Expressions Belly Dance Studio
What do you like about our services?

The passion of the dancers are evident. I like the variety too.

Report a concern   October 14, 2013 — Rated 10 out of 10 by S.W. Hip Expressions Belly Dance Studio
What do you like about our services?

Receiving personal attention from the instructor.

Report a concern   November 4, 2013 — Rated 10 out of 10 by E.W. Hip Expressions Belly Dance Studio
What do you like about our services?

everything friendly people great instructor clean just a great feeling there .thanks I enjoy every min

Report a concern   October 26, 2013 — Rated 10 out of 10 by N.S.A. Hip Expressions Belly Dance Studio
What do you like about our services?

Non judgemental, friendly and helpful instructors makes students enjoy belly dancing and have fun with it.

Report a concern   October 23, 2013 — Rated 10 out of 10 by E.S. Hip Expressions Belly Dance Studio
What do you like about our services?

I like the atmosphere here, you are all very friendly and supportive and I have met nice people also that are in our classes. I don't think I'm very graceful, but I have been enjoying the Toolbox class, and plan to take the next one. Tried Yoga, and Nia also, and they were both good; Yoga was hard, but I felt great afterward, Nia was a good workout, I felt a little clumsy, but had fun. I didn't get over to try as many other classes as I thought I would during my 30 day trial, but after I finish the next toolbox I plan to join as a member. I'm really glad you are here Marcy, Elizabeth, Johanna, Omaris, and all.......

Report a concern   October 22, 2013 — Rated 10 out of 10 by G.M. Hip Expressions Belly Dance Studio
What do you like about our services?

Every instructor so far is very patient and friendly.
I wish they had more classes available during the day tho
Like early morning that would be ideal for me..working nights iam limited..thank you

Report a concern   October 21, 2013 — Rated 10 out of 10 by W.K. Hip Expressions Belly Dance Studio
What do you like about our services?

Atmosphere.

Report a concern   September 27, 2013 — Rated 10 out of 10 by A.S. Hip Expressions Belly Dance Studio
What do you like about our services?

variety of belly dance classes

Report a concern   October 10, 2013 — Rated 10 out of 10 by J.B. Hip Expressions Belly Dance Studio
What do you like about our services?

A variety of services, classes, events are offered.

Report a concern   October 8, 2013 — Rated 9 out of 10 by D.B. Hip Expressions Belly Dance Studio
What do you like about our services?

Friendly and clean and knowledgeable. Unfortunately for me as I have plantar fasciitis, doing the class barefoot wasn't good for me. I have to wear arch supports in my shoes. This of course has nothing to do with the class (which I enjoyed) or the teacher or facility.

Response from Hip Expressions Belly Dance Studio:

Yes supportive footwear is sometimes necessary for people, you are always welcome to wear whatever you need to be comfortable, and safe! Thanks for your feedback!

Report a concern   October 2, 2013 — Rated 10 out of 10 by R.Q. Hip Expressions Belly Dance Studio
What do you like about our services?

very friendly staff.fun time

Report a concern   September 24, 2013 — Rated 10 out of 10 by G.L. Hip Expressions Belly Dance Studio
What do you like about our services?

A variety of services provided
clean atmosphere
A friendly staff and members
It was nice to see that the belly dancers there were not one size they were a variety of many.
This is something that made me feel more at ease.
When I ask questions on Facebook Omari's was quick to answer them for me.

Report a concern   September 23, 2013 — Rated 10 out of 10 by D.R. Hip Expressions Belly Dance Studio
What do you like about our services?

Teachers and selection of different classes and the beautiful wood floors studio.

Report a concern   September 23, 2013 — Rated 10 out of 10 by M.L. Hip Expressions Belly Dance Studio
What do you like about our services?

Courtesy, friendliness, supportive, reasonable pricing.

Report a concern   September 23, 2013 — Rated 10 out of 10 by J.P. Hip Expressions Belly Dance Studio
What do you like about our services?

Very friendly people. You always make everyone feel welcome.

Report a concern   September 13, 2013 — Rated 10 out of 10 by C.C. Hip Expressions Belly Dance Studio
What do you like about our services?

Everyone was very welcoming! Very excited to be following my dream....

Report a concern   September 22, 2013 — Rated 10 out of 10 by N.C. Hip Expressions Belly Dance Studio
What do you like about our services?

professional and friendly

Report a concern   September 13, 2013 — Rated 10 out of 10 by L.F. Hip Expressions Belly Dance Studio
What do you like about our services?

Variety of classes, quality of instructors, opportunity to perform.

Report a concern   September 16, 2013 — Rated 6 out of 10 by A.R. Hip Expressions Belly Dance Studio
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

Studio seems to have lost it's direction and sense of community. Unfortunately seems to be no balance between bringing in new students while still keeping long time students engaged and satisfied.

Response from Hip Expressions Belly Dance Studio:

Andrea I am sorry our Tribal classes had petered out earlier this year, without a dedicated teacher to keep that genre alive. I am excited to report that now we have an ATS certified instructor, Elizabeth Irwin, who will be heading up our Tribal improvisational belly dance program! I'm glad you're coming back to classes now, enjoy!

Report a concern   September 16, 2013 — Rated 10 out of 10 by K.E. Hip Expressions Belly Dance Studio
What do you like about our services?

Comfortable environment


Privacy Policy