Pillar To Post
2801 Ashby Ave
Berkeley
CA 94705
United States

Average rating: 9.5 out of 10 based on 116 ratings.

What our customers think of us!

The following comments were submitted by our customers when asked to provide feedback on our service. In the interest of transparency, we present these comments as provided except that personally identifiable information has been hidden unless the reviewer has requested their full name be included with the review. No unfavorable comments have been removed.

Report a concern   January 16, 2018 — Rated 10 out of 10 by J.H. Pillar To Post

Bruce was very quick and responsive. He offered the best prices and despite a scheduling mix-up was able to complete the job within the time allotted. He had useful advice and was very friendly.

Report a concern   December 6, 2017 — Rated 5 out of 10 by J.P.N. Pillar To Post

All thing are good.

Report a concern   November 28, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by A.J. Pillar To Post

I liked the fact that the inspection was very thorough! All of my questions were answered and others that I hadn't even thought of. Anytime I need a home inspected I will be sure to use Pillar-To-Post again!

Report a concern   November 13, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by B.E.F.T. Pillar To Post

Thorough and timely

Report a concern   October 31, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by J.J.S. Pillar To Post

prompt, honest, and efficient.

Report a concern   October 20, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by R.V. Pillar To Post

Combined roof and home inspection. Inspector had good knowledge of house characteristics based on year home built and current codes.

Report a concern   August 1, 2017 — Rated 9 out of 10 by J.K.H. Pillar To Post

every thing was good, but it was too expensive.

Report a concern   July 12, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by M.W. Pillar To Post

Representative was on time & extremely professional.

Report a concern   June 23, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by U.E. Pillar To Post

Bruce was helpful, informative and lovely to work with. He was also very professional and careful with our animals. I got a few good tips on dealing with sunny days and keeping the house cool!

Report a concern   June 13, 2017 — Rated 8 out of 10 by L.G. Pillar To Post

I really appreciated Bruces' patience and demeanor. He is extremely knowledgeable and he is willing to share tips for improving your home. My down grade from a 10 to an 8 is due to the lack of pertinent information that I was hoping to find in my report, in order to support my request for the sellers to fix necessary safety items before I moved in. These areas, in my opinion, were minimized and worded in a way that didn't cause concern to my seller or my real estate agent. This was contradictory to how I remember the verbal concerns that were discussed with me at the time of the inspection. Thank you.

Report a concern   May 26, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by A.K. Pillar To Post

Bruce was extremely thorough and highly qualified. Excellent service.

Report a concern   May 20, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by C.K. Pillar To Post

Inspector explained energy improvements he would recommend in a clear and informative manner. Punctual and professional!

Report a concern   May 12, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by S.S.K. Pillar To Post

Quality of work.

Report a concern   May 2, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by T.M. Pillar To Post

on time, friendly, explained the process, good job

Report a concern   April 20, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by K.O.N. Pillar To Post

Bruce is very thorough and dedicated to his work.
Providing a lot of crucial information.

Report a concern   April 4, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by J.D.A. Pillar To Post

Fast response, good price, quick turnaround, and the rep was kind and friendly person.

Report a concern   February 15, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by L.T. Pillar To Post

Responsive professional service!

Report a concern   January 31, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by J.I. Pillar To Post

Bruce is extremely helpful. He is very knowledgeable in all facets of construction and has helped me through this process.
Thank you!

Report a concern   January 20, 2017 — Rated 9 out of 10 by A.R. Pillar To Post

I really liked Bruce Macdermott's promptness and professionalism. Not only that, he went way beyond the call of duty, to answer my questions - and also offered helpful tips on questions unrelated to home energy upgrades, but never pushed a vendor or services. He was also less expensive than other assessments and did a thorough job. As an energy efficiency professional, I know that he did.

Report a concern   January 18, 2017 — Rated 8 out of 10 by K.F. Pillar To Post

Provide customers with a written report in binder when done.Email is great but owners need a hard copy for future

Report a concern   December 28, 2016 — Rated 9 out of 10 by P.M.M.B. Pillar To Post

I like the expert level of experience the inspectors have

Report a concern   December 28, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by M.P. Pillar To Post

Bruce MacDermott was very responsive, thorough, and helpful. He made the entire BESO process enjoyable and gave us very helpful advice. He's excellent!

Report a concern   December 13, 2016 — Rated 5 out of 10 by M.L. Pillar To Post

Explain how you came up with the BESO score?

Response from Pillar To Post:

I am sorry that you were not happy with the assessment I performed on your house. I thought that I had explained the process and how the results are generated at the beginning of the assessment. To answer your question - all home energy scores are generated by a tool developed by Lawrence Berkeley Labs for the Department of Energy. I have no control over the tool or its results. I can only measure the house, run the calculations that determine the volume of the home, identify its wall and window types, space and water heating appliances, and any insulation present. These are entered into the tool and a number is generated. Your home had an energy score of 5, which is average and quite typical for homes of its size. We made several recommendations and provided you with resources for upgrades and potential rebates. I do not understand why you would rate my performance so poorly under the circumstances. Your BESO requirements were completed within two days of my assessment visit. Our confirmation email clearly states that results are generally received in three business days. We did better than that. If there was something that I did that garnered the score, please let me know so that I can ensure that it is not repeated.

Report a concern   November 25, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by M.A.C. Pillar To Post

We received a very detailed report regarding the house which we can use precisely for each services.

Report a concern   November 16, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by J.M.C. Pillar To Post

Great experience!

Report a concern   September 13, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by G.K. Pillar To Post
What do you like about our services?

Bruce was highly attentive and patient, he answered a number of questions I had, and explained everything in an intuitive and detailed manner.

Report a concern   September 2, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by R.J. Pillar To Post
What do you like about our services?

This is the only company ask that I be present for the home inspection in the past I did not show up and there was many problems after I moved in.

Report a concern   August 15, 2016 — Rated 9 out of 10 by Eric Spivey Pillar To Post
What do you like about our services?

Bruce was prompt, friendly, and got the assessment done in the time he promised. Would recommend Pillar to Post to anyone looking for a BESO assessment in Berkeley.

Report a concern   July 28, 2016 — Rated 9 out of 10 by J.W.A.M.C.O.P. Pillar To Post
What do you like about our services?

Clear expertise shown in our walk though. Good recommendations

Report a concern   July 10, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by L.D. Pillar To Post
What do you like about our services?

It was very thorough and Bruce was very patient to explain findings.


Privacy Policy