House of Jai
1456 First Ave
NY
NY 10021
United States

Average rating: 9.2 out of 10 based on 416 ratings.

What our clients think of us!

The following comments were submitted by our customers when asked to provide feedback on our service. In the interest of transparency, we present these comments as provided except that personally identifiable information has been hidden unless the reviewer has requested their full name be included with the review. No unfavorable comments have been removed.

Report a concern   May 29, 2017 — Rated 9 out of 10 by J.D. House of Jai
What do you like about our services?

Very friendly and helpful staff, well maintained clean premises & great class

Report a concern   May 28, 2017 — Rated 8 out of 10 by I.K. House of Jai
What could we do to improve?

Nothing.

Report a concern   May 26, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by F.C. House of Jai
What do you like about our services?

Very friendly, the teacher was very professional, clean mats as nice atmosphere.

Report a concern   May 14, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by W.B. House of Jai
What do you like about our services?

A lot.

Report a concern   May 13, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by L.K. House of Jai
What do you like about our services?

I went for prenatal yoga... like the instructors and it's a nice clean environment. i definitely recommend coming here.

Report a concern   May 12, 2017 — Rated 9 out of 10 by R.J. House of Jai
What do you like about our services?

Great space, good people

Report a concern   May 10, 2017 — Rated 7 out of 10 by D.N. House of Jai
What could we do to improve?

Reduce cost of membership

Response from House of Jai:

Thank you for your feedback. Our membership is very reasonable compared to the other Studios on the Upper East side. We haven't raised our membership pricing in years and our Unlimited Paid in Full Memberships reduce prices even further. Plus, we run specials on our Unlimited Paid In Full memberships to make it an incomparable deal!

Report a concern   May 3, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by A.H. House of Jai
What do you like about our services?

Very laid back and comfortable atmosphere.

Report a concern   May 2, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by M.L. House of Jai
What do you like about our services?

I had a wonderful class. Thank you!

Report a concern   April 30, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by B.R. House of Jai
What do you like about our services?

Great class with individualized attention. Really enjoyed it!

Report a concern   April 27, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by E.B. House of Jai
What do you like about our services?

Quality of instructors and classes, professionalism of all staff, cleanliness of studios.

Report a concern   April 25, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by J.Y. House of Jai
What do you like about our services?

Everything!
Location is convenient, I live on 74th street
Client Services at the front desk was very nice and welcoming.
The studio appears clean
Matts supplies
No reservations in advance works for me.

Report a concern   April 17, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by G.W. House of Jai
What do you like about our services?

Good front desk service, lovely facility and good instruction

Report a concern   April 16, 2017 — Rated 5 out of 10 by J.A. House of Jai
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

No disappointment

Report a concern   April 13, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by L.R. House of Jai
What do you like about our services?

It was very warm and welcoming! Great class

Report a concern   April 4, 2017 — Rated 8 out of 10 by A.A. House of Jai
What could we do to improve?

As a first time student, it would've been helpful to have someone show me where the bathrooms were located and tell me where / how to set up my mat. Having the front desk staff really take care to make sure new customers feel 100% comfortable would make a difference. Also, providing information on what classes would be suitable for a new student (beyond the first class) would also have been helpful.

Response from House of Jai:

Thank you for your feedback. We pride ourselves in our customer service and take this feedback very seriously. We checked and saw that our newest employee checked you in. It was her first day out of training. She likely was just beginning to get comfortable meeting all of the clients and getting into a groove and will definitely receive this note. We are generally complimented for our welcoming and thorough explanation of the Studio process and class descriptions and pairings.

Report a concern   March 28, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by M.F. House of Jai
What do you like about our services?

The intro special too good to pass up. Friendly
No pressure atmosphere appeals to me. Capable positive
Yoga leader for my first class did well.

Report a concern   March 27, 2017 — Rated 9 out of 10 by M.M. House of Jai
What do you like about our services?

Good class

Report a concern   March 24, 2017 — Rated 8 out of 10 by J.S. House of Jai
What could we do to improve?

$30 per class is a little steep. I'd be more comfortable prepaying per class $20-25 and drop in should be $28. The yoga studios I've been to that charge $30 have complimentary water bottles, electrolytes, warm towels to wash your skin before touching communal matts, all of the instructors use essential oils for aroma therapy, just small nice touches. I do love the instructors here very much but getting a little more bang for my buck would be ideal.

Response from House of Jai:

Thank you for loving our instructors here. We would like to reiterate that we give every opportunity to never pay the drop in rate that is very competitive to the neighborhood. On the upper east side, boutique yoga studios all charge the same rate per drop in. However, we do include mat and a towel where others charge for a mat and towel rental. Our current class pack rates drop classes down closer to $20 per class and packages can always be reactivated after expiration.

Report a concern   March 23, 2017 — Rated 2 out of 10 by C.C. House of Jai
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

I am willing to go back to try the studio again, as I realize one time cannot speak for everything whatsoever. However, I left very unsatisfied with the class especially for the high price point. I couldn't see the teacher for the first part of class because of the huge pillars in the basement room. It felt extremely disconnected and plain weird. It could have been made up for with personality or personal connection, but Stephanie sounded so automated and didn't show personality. The class sequencing didn't have a theme that made it feel substantive. Its something I'd expect in a community class not a $30 class.

Response from House of Jai:

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are shocked, as this particular teacher is a crowd favorite. Though she is one of the most sought after teachers, we understand energetically that not every student will vibe with every instructor's technique. Luckily, no two instructors at House of Jai are alike! You can stop by the front desk to get a consultation as to what teachers and types of classes best fit your needs.
The pillars are most desirable to students seeking additional balance stability as well as those working on inversions during the flow. We suggest, perhaps, choosing a different part of the room next time. Even in a busy class, we have a community of students who are always welcoming to make space for you wherever you might prefer to practice in the room.


Privacy Policy