House of Jai
1456 First Ave
NY
NY 10021
United States

Average rating: 9.2 out of 10 based on 399 ratings.

What our clients think of us!

The following comments were submitted by our customers when asked to provide feedback on our service. In the interest of transparency, we present these comments as provided except that personally identifiable information has been hidden unless the reviewer has requested their full name be included with the review. No unfavorable comments have been removed.

Report a concern   March 24, 2017 — Rated 8 out of 10 by J.S. House of Jai
What could we do to improve?

$30 per class is a little steep. I'd be more comfortable prepaying per class $20-25 and drop in should be $28. The yoga studios I've been to that charge $30 have complimentary water bottles, electrolytes, warm towels to wash your skin before touching communal matts, all of the instructors use essential oils for aroma therapy, just small nice touches. I do love the instructors here very much but getting a little more bang for my buck would be ideal.

Response from House of Jai:

Thank you for loving our instructors here. We would like to reiterate that we give every opportunity to never pay the drop in rate that is very competitive to the neighborhood. On the upper east side, boutique yoga studios all charge the same rate per drop in. However, we do include mat and a towel where others charge for a mat and towel rental. Our current class pack rates drop classes down closer to $20 per class and packages can always be reactivated after expiration.

Report a concern   March 23, 2017 — Rated 2 out of 10 by C.C. House of Jai
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

I am willing to go back to try the studio again, as I realize one time cannot speak for everything whatsoever. However, I left very unsatisfied with the class especially for the high price point. I couldn't see the teacher for the first part of class because of the huge pillars in the basement room. It felt extremely disconnected and plain weird. It could have been made up for with personality or personal connection, but Stephanie sounded so automated and didn't show personality. The class sequencing didn't have a theme that made it feel substantive. Its something I'd expect in a community class not a $30 class.

Response from House of Jai:

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are shocked, as this particular teacher is a crowd favorite. Though she is one of the most sought after teachers, we understand energetically that not every student will vibe with every instructor's technique. Luckily, no two instructors at House of Jai are alike! You can stop by the front desk to get a consultation as to what teachers and types of classes best fit your needs.
The pillars are most desirable to students seeking additional balance stability as well as those working on inversions during the flow. We suggest, perhaps, choosing a different part of the room next time. Even in a busy class, we have a community of students who are always welcoming to make space for you wherever you might prefer to practice in the room.

Report a concern   March 19, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by L.A. House of Jai
What do you like about our services?

I like that the classes are challenging and the people are welcoming. I also appreciate the instruction that the teachers provide to make sure I'm in the pose correctly.

Report a concern   March 15, 2017 — Rated 9 out of 10 by C.C. House of Jai
What do you like about our services?

Excellent massage with Angel

Report a concern   March 12, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by A.M.Q.F. House of Jai
What do you like about our services?

Clean, friendly , chill vibe!

Report a concern   March 10, 2017 — Rated 9 out of 10 by J.D.S. House of Jai
What do you like about our services?

Everyone was very friendly and attentive.

Report a concern   March 7, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by T.D. House of Jai
What do you like about our services?

The space, the teachers, the vibe, the cleanliness, the changing rooms with lockers. I am so grateful I live in the neighborhood of HoJ!

Report a concern   March 7, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by E.H. House of Jai
What do you like about our services?

Very good instructor and equipment. The class provided both good movement and relaxation

Report a concern   February 27, 2017 — Rated 8 out of 10 by S.P. House of Jai
What could we do to improve?

More individual help in the class

Response from House of Jai:

Thank you so much for your feedback. We pride ourselves on the personal attention teachers give students during group classes. However, if you would like more personalized attention, we do offer private sessions.

Report a concern   February 26, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by B.L. House of Jai
What do you like about our services?

Peaceful environment, sweet facilities, welcoming atmosphere, knowledgeable instructor

Report a concern   February 25, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by A.M.C. House of Jai
What do you like about our services?

Friendly, informed staff. Excellent yoga classes. First class facility.

Report a concern   February 22, 2017 — Rated 9 out of 10 by L.B. House of Jai
What do you like about our services?

I think the instructors are fabulous and the facilities are great.

Report a concern   January 19, 2017 — Rated 9 out of 10 by K.S. House of Jai
What do you like about our services?

it was clean, fun, and all around a great yoga experience.

Report a concern   January 19, 2017 — Rated 9 out of 10 by L.A.W. House of Jai
What do you like about our services?

Great teachers, environment, vibe

Report a concern   January 14, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by L.K. House of Jai
What do you like about our services?

Environment, Rebecca and Liz.

Report a concern   January 11, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by L.I. House of Jai
What do you like about our services?

Clean, friendly, thorough classes. Convenient.

Report a concern   January 8, 2017 — Rated 9 out of 10 by D.B. House of Jai
What do you like about our services?

Everyone is really friendly and wants to help. So far it appears that there are plenty of options for classes.

Report a concern   January 7, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by O.P. House of Jai
What do you like about our services?

Very friendly and clean

Report a concern   January 5, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by L.P. House of Jai
What do you like about our services?

I have only been to two classes there. Great instructor, pleasant studios, friendly staff, good vibe.

Report a concern   January 5, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by J.W. House of Jai
What do you like about our services?

Everything


Privacy Policy