Pillar To Post
610 Shunpike Rd.
Erma
New Jersey 08204
United States

Average rating: 9.2 out of 10 based on 122 ratings.

What our customers think of us!

The following comments were submitted by our customers when asked to provide feedback on our service. In the interest of transparency, we present these comments as provided except that personally identifiable information has been hidden unless the reviewer has requested their full name be included with the review. No unfavorable comments have been removed.

Report a concern   November 22, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by G.L.A. Pillar To Post
What do you like about our services?

Inspector took time to explain procedures and any issues that were found.

Report a concern   November 16, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by J.H. Pillar To Post
What do you like about our services?

I was very impressed with Gabby not only does she have a keen Knowledge of all things electrical mechanical etc. but she is excellent at M interpreting the data and she's a beautiful writer which makes the report easy-to-read it was a pleasure doing business with her and I would be very likely to refer her

Report a concern   November 16, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by J.E. Pillar To Post
What do you like about our services?

Quick response to my inspection request. On time arrival and very thorough. The inspection report had even very small "problems" picked out.

Report a concern   November 15, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by A.M. Pillar To Post
What do you like about our services?

very thorough and photographs helpful. Went back when there was an area locked and could not see it the first time.

Report a concern   November 2, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by K.Z. Pillar To Post
What do you like about our services?

Gabi was very professional and thorough. She made sure i knew where important things were like shut off valves and fireplace damper.

Report a concern   November 1, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by J.M. Pillar To Post
What do you like about our services?

Gabi is prompt, honest, capable, and friendly!

Report a concern   October 19, 2016 — Rated 9 out of 10 by B.M. Pillar To Post
What do you like about our services?

The inspector was on time and did a good job. The report was available the next evening on line.

Report a concern   October 18, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by J.T.B. Pillar To Post
What do you like about our services?

Responsible, knowledgeable, good work done, well documented.

Report a concern   October 18, 2016 — Rated 8 out of 10 by L.R. Pillar To Post
What could we do to improve?

Provide more pictures, more detail and cost estimate ranges for general items.

Report a concern   October 18, 2016 — Rated 7 out of 10 by K.R.S. Pillar To Post
What could we do to improve?

Happy

Report a concern   October 18, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by B.E.S. Pillar To Post
What do you like about our services?

The comprehensive written report provided to me by close of business on the day of the home inspection. The report was clear. It made specific recommendations to remedy an electrical and plumbing issues. Very useful.

Report a concern   September 9, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by L.W. Pillar To Post
What do you like about our services?

You were prompt and thorough with the inspection of my new home. Thank you!

Report a concern   August 23, 2016 — Rated 9 out of 10 by J.K.H. Pillar To Post
What do you like about our services?

Gabi and her assistant were tremendous and very professional. Job well done.

Report a concern   August 20, 2016 — Rated 9 out of 10 by J.N.O.L. Pillar To Post
What do you like about our services?

Availability, courteous, answered my questions to the best of their ability.

Report a concern   August 19, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by Lena O`Neill Pillar To Post
What do you like about our services?

The thoroughness and the expertise of both inspectors.

Report a concern   August 19, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by J.D.L. Pillar To Post
What do you like about our services?

Structure of the process.

Report a concern   August 15, 2016 — Rated 0 out of 10 by P.J.R. Pillar To Post
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

I sent the following letter to the franchise owner (inspector) and regional manager. The regional manger replied with a very generic response.

"Good morning, Gabi and Jim.

I wanted to reach out to you after clearing my head about the home inspection that I had paid for last week. Gabi and Terry were both very friendly and professional; my issue has more to do with the value of the service I received from the Pillar to Post brand. As someone who works in the field of online reputation management, I wanted to express my concerns directly with you in lieu of going to the online review sites without the courtesy of providing direct feedback first.

In short, $700 was not an appropriate fee for the level of service I received. I had paid much less for home inspections in the past and those inspections were far more comprehensive in nature.

At the start of our day, the Pillar to Post office reps did not provide Gabi with the lock box code despite our efforts to coordinate in advance. Then, I was told that the plumbing and heat could not be inspected because the water and gas were turned off. While I understand her concern regarding liability, I would have made proper arrangements if the company told me to have the utilities turned on in advance. Luckily, Gabi was able to return to the property later in the day with my Realtor to inspect the plumbing. If she hadn’t, I would have not known about a broken pipe and would not have been able to move into the property with my family on time.

Upon concluding this inspection, I neither knew where to find the well nor the septic tank on the property. While I understand that Pillar to Post is not responsible for inspecting those items in detail, I do think it would have been reasonable to assume that the inspectors would have located all of the major fixtures on the property for reference to the customer.

I was told that I would have a report the following morning, so I could have enough time to back out of my contract, but I did not get the report until late in the evening (after a series of phone calls and Emails to the company).

The report notes that, “the furnace in the crawl space could not be accessed at the time of inspection.” Why? What was blocking the access? Now, that leaves me with yet another question mark.

While I understand that there are certain circumstances that may prevent an inspector from getting a full picture of every detail, I am upset that I had paid so much to have such an incomplete assessment of the property. Ultimately, not having a more complete report could cost me tens of thousands of dollars.

It is not my intent to ruffle any feathers with this correspondence; I simply wanted to provide my honest feedback with you in the hopes that Pillar to Post can improve the quality of its service and/or reduce the price accordingly.

Thank you in advance for your kind consideration.

PJ Last name removed
Phone number removed"

Report a concern   August 13, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by Rodney & Vicky Henry Pillar To Post
What do you like about our services?

How thorough your inspection turned out to be!

Report a concern   July 25, 2016 — Rated 0 out of 10 by J.M. Pillar To Post
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

After I moved into the house, wishing two weeks, I had to have a new well dug. I also had to replace all the plumbing for the 2nd story bathroom because of a major clog that had clearly been there a very long time. All the shower drain and toilet drains and sink, also bought a new toilet. In my opinion, the inspector Gabby Whalen,, did not do a thorough job. Especially after I paid $560 for a more thorough inspection. And the washer also does not run properly that will have to be replaced too. Very upset

Report a concern   July 22, 2016 — Rated 5 out of 10 by D.C. Pillar To Post
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

I attempted to contact my inspector on multiple occasions and never received a response. Was a very frustrating experience. Your home office, while friendly, could do nothing to help the situation.


Privacy Policy