Iyengar Yoga Institute of San Francisco
2201 Sutter Street
San Francisco
CA 94115
United States

Average rating: 9.3 out of 10 based on 1085 ratings.

What our clients think of us!

The following comments were submitted by our customers when asked to provide feedback on our service. In the interest of transparency, we present these comments as provided except that personally identifiable information has been hidden unless the reviewer has requested their full name be included with the review. No unfavorable comments have been removed.

Report a concern   March 25, 2017 — Rated 7 out of 10 by D.F. Iyengar Yoga Institute of San Francisco
What could we do to improve?

As a dedicated Iyengar student I will always chose Iyengar over other forms of yoga. In addition, I will always encourage friends to try the Iyengar method. I am a bit perplexed however by the coldness of some Iyengar teachers. I practice in Nashville and feel very fortunate to have warm, kind, and encouraging teachers. In my experience in some other cities, particularly NYC and San Francisco, the teachers I have had class with have not made my experience a comfortable one. I have been told that Iyengar teachers have a negative reputation in the yoga community and I'm starting to get a taste of why that might be. One of the things that makes Iyengar different from other forms of yoga is the usage of props. My teachers in Nashville always encourage us to use props if it will help us with alignment and proper form. In NYC I was yelled at multiple times by a teacher because she did not want me using a block at all and when I asked the teacher in San Fran if I could use a block I was told no and the class laughed. He did end up having us use props and blocks, although I did have a prop taken away from me even when I told him that was how I was working on the pose back home. I understand why perhaps these teachers don't want us to rely heavily on the props but I am not at a point in my practice yet where I can do some poses correctly without a chair or a block. I have a few physical issues and I am trying to slowly gain strength without hurting myself. The teacher in San Fran was very mindful about checking in with me, which I appreciated. I just find the attitude of coldness and the negative response to using props a bit upsetting. I'm grateful for your studio and the Iyengar community and I want to be honest about my experiences. With that said, your front desk staff was very kind, warm, and welcoming. I will come back the next time I am in your city, I just hope not to have yet another shaming experience, that's not what yoga is about.

Report a concern   March 24, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by N.S. Iyengar Yoga Institute of San Francisco
What do you like about our services?

Great classes, with knowledgable caring teachers

Report a concern   March 24, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by D.E. Iyengar Yoga Institute of San Francisco
What do you like about our services?

Fabulous well trained teachers
Courteous reception team
Warm greeting space
Harmonious space

Report a concern   March 24, 2017 — Rated 9 out of 10 by M.B. Iyengar Yoga Institute of San Francisco
What do you like about our services?

Great teacher (Ann, the French Ann!). Good class size (not too packed). Stayed on task.

Report a concern   March 22, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by S.K. Iyengar Yoga Institute of San Francisco
What do you like about our services?

The quality of teaching. Friendly and helpful front desk staff

Report a concern   March 22, 2017 — Rated 3 out of 10 by G.B. Iyengar Yoga Institute of San Francisco
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

parking; lack of soundproofing between studios

Report a concern   March 20, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by N.L. Iyengar Yoga Institute of San Francisco
What do you like about our services?

High quality teaching

Report a concern   March 20, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by A.C. Iyengar Yoga Institute of San Francisco
What do you like about our services?

The workshop was excellent!

Report a concern   March 19, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by L.F. Iyengar Yoga Institute of San Francisco
What do you like about our services?

Beautiful studio, knowledgeable teachers - what is not to like!

Report a concern   March 19, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by S.Z. Iyengar Yoga Institute of San Francisco
What do you like about our services?

Great teachers!

Report a concern   March 19, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by B.C. Iyengar Yoga Institute of San Francisco
What do you like about our services?

The teachers and cleanliness

Report a concern   March 17, 2017 — Rated 9 out of 10 by G.L. Iyengar Yoga Institute of San Francisco
What do you like about our services?

Janet MacLeod is a great instructor!

Report a concern   March 16, 2017 — Rated 9 out of 10 by R.P. Iyengar Yoga Institute of San Francisco
What do you like about our services?

Great yoga instruction

Report a concern   March 14, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by A.K. Iyengar Yoga Institute of San Francisco
What do you like about our services?

Solid classes, grounded in fundamental yoga philosophy, great instructors, and positive vibe.

Report a concern   March 13, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by J.C. Iyengar Yoga Institute of San Francisco
What do you like about our services?

Great instructors and friendly staff.

Report a concern   March 13, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by O.W. Iyengar Yoga Institute of San Francisco
What do you like about our services?

Theresa's class

Report a concern   March 11, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by J.A. Iyengar Yoga Institute of San Francisco
What do you like about our services?

I like the kindness of the folks working out front. Their welcoming, calm demeanor give the whole studio a different feel than other places. I also love the high standards of cleanliness and order.
L

Report a concern   March 9, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by V.B. Iyengar Yoga Institute of San Francisco
What do you like about our services?

Variety of classes, location, great customer service, health improvements

Report a concern   March 8, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by E.S. Iyengar Yoga Institute of San Francisco
What do you like about our services?

Good teachers, friendly desk staff,
lovely space

Report a concern   March 7, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by M.S. Iyengar Yoga Institute of San Francisco
What do you like about our services?

Knowledgeable experienced Teachers


Privacy Policy