Genesis Health Clubs
6100 E. Central St. Suite 3
Wichita
KS 67208
United States

Average rating: 8.0 out of 10 based on 11714 ratings.

What our members think of us!

The following comments were submitted by our customers when asked to provide feedback on our service. In the interest of transparency, we present these comments as provided except that personally identifiable information has been hidden unless the reviewer has requested their full name be included with the review. No unfavorable comments have been removed.

Report a concern   May 22, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by C.B. Genesis Health Clubs
What do you like about our club?

There are a variety of group classes and times, plenty of machines, and helpful trainers.

Report a concern   May 22, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by B.M. Genesis Health Clubs
What do you like about our club?

Nice atmosphere, friendly and knowledgeable staff

Report a concern   May 22, 2017 — Rated 8 out of 10 by A.T. Genesis Health Clubs
What could we do to improve?

Hours on Sunday could be later. Cleaner weight room

Report a concern   May 22, 2017 — Rated 3 out of 10 by J.B. Genesis Health Clubs
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

Exercise classes: p90, or something else high impact besides step

Report a concern   May 22, 2017 — Rated 7 out of 10 by B.G. Genesis Health Clubs
What could we do to improve?

Larger locker room for sure as it's very crowded during peak times like lunch time. While it's awesome you sell supplements, it would be awesome to have a live juice bar of some sort. Protein shakes to go :)

Other than that I'm happy with the club...

Report a concern   May 22, 2017 — Rated 8 out of 10 by M.H. Genesis Health Clubs
What could we do to improve?

Different classes. Longer hours on the weekend

Report a concern   May 22, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by D.H. Genesis Health Clubs
What do you like about our club?

Everyone is very friendly, especially the Trainers!

Report a concern   May 22, 2017 — Rated 7 out of 10 by C.S. Genesis Health Clubs
What could we do to improve?

The bikes in the spin room are awful. Most of them are broken or have monitors that don't work. Other equipment throughout the gym in the weight room also needs repair or replaced.

Report a concern   May 22, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by K.M. Genesis Health Clubs
What do you like about our club?

The space to workout, modern equipment, tennis activities, the exercise classes, spacious pool, towel service and it's always clean.

Report a concern   May 21, 2017 — Rated 8 out of 10 by D.M. Genesis Health Clubs
What could we do to improve?

It would be nice to have a track but the local I am at is not structured for such

Report a concern   May 21, 2017 — Rated 8 out of 10 by M.T. Genesis Health Clubs
What could we do to improve?

Sunday fitness or abs blast class

Report a concern   May 20, 2017 — Rated 0 out of 10 by J.L. Genesis Health Clubs
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

These comnents are related to my personal experiences, as well as many of my friends who have memberships:

Yesterday, I used the pool for a swim workout. First, the temperature of the water is much too warm. Bacteria thrive under warm water conditions. For competitive swimming, water should be no higher than 82°F, for recreational pools the recommended maximum is 84°F. The pool was also filthy. There was debris in the pool, including mucus and hair floating in the water, lost acrylic fingernails and dirt on the floor of the pool, and an unpleasant odor in the swimming pool room. Also, the showers in the locker room had no hot water.

The cardio and weight equipment is not being sanitized by each user after completion of their workout (there are spray bottles and towels - which are also unsanitary - but I've seen many people leave a machine without wiping it down). The staff should do a better job making sure people do their part to keep things sanitary (no one monitors this).

The front desk staff seems to be clueless about most issues or questions asked. Anytime I've asked someone a question about an event at the gym, I've been told to go to the website. Also, I don't dare order a shake if I'm on any type of time schedule. It takes forever to have a shake mixed.

Last, the membership pricing is ridiculous, especially if you don't utilize the pool or tennis facilities. We've been members since the "completion promise date" and were unable to use the new facility for months after we joined. In fact, there is still construction going on. Parking is difficult and extremely limited during peak times, and the entrance is filled with enormous potholes (only a few of which have recently been filled with gravel).

I'm sure there are other things I'm not thinking of at this time, but overall, my family is extremely disappointed with what is being sold as a state-of-the-art facility. Normally, I am not one to complain, unless things have been piling up and my frustrations are shared by many other people I've talked to. I'd be happy to discuss these concerns if someone would like to call me.

Name removed
Phone number removed
Email address removed

Report a concern   May 19, 2017 — Rated 0 out of 10 by P.R. Genesis Health Clubs
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

I signed a 2 year contract that ends June 1 and I stopped into the gym to make sure I was correct. The last payment came out of my checking account on May 15th, I was met with a young man who had me sign a paper that stated another payment would come out on June 15 and I crossed that out and said that it would not because I was not continuing at this time. I signed it and he did and then recvd a call from a manager stating that they would be taking another payment because I needed to give 30 days notice. This makes no sense to me since I signed a 2 year contract and nothing further. This is why people do not join big gyms because you pull stunts like this. I will be passing on this experience to everyone I know.

Report a concern   May 19, 2017 — Rated 6 out of 10 by K.S. Genesis Health Clubs
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

When Genesis first purchased Gold's, the new staff was unfriendly. It has gotten better over the last few months. I am concerned about the cleanliness of the facility. The basketball court floor is filthy. It is not being properly cared for. I have walked on sticky spills and regularly see balls of dust on the floor. When I see the gym in that condition, it makes question the cleaning for the rest of the gym.

Report a concern   May 19, 2017 — Rated 0 out of 10 by C.H. Genesis Health Clubs
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

High cost of membership was not reachable for my son and wife. Plus I need to unsubscribe from you e-mails as they use up my data on my cell. No option that I can see for unsubscribing. Stop your e-mails PLEASE

Report a concern   May 19, 2017 — Rated 1 out of 10 by R.G. Genesis Health Clubs
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

I do not like the new group classes. (Which is what I signed a contract to a gym for.) I also do not like how much I am bothered about personal training.

Report a concern   May 19, 2017 — Rated 8 out of 10 by J.E. Genesis Health Clubs
What could we do to improve?

It would be nice to have more spin classes during the power shred.

I also think there should be more equipment cleaning stations as no one really wipes down after using the machines. It's gross!!

Report a concern   May 19, 2017 — Rated 3 out of 10 by W.W. Genesis Health Clubs
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

No oversight of what goes on in weight/training areas upstairs - serious safety issues:

- rule number one posted on walls says "no dropping weights" yet in free weight area multiple individuals drop 350-450 lb weights from just below waist level to ground. People working out on adjacent machines have their toes within 1 foot of where the weights are being dropped. If the rule is no longer in effect, take it down. If it is still true, enforce it.
- stretch area near steps - people balancing 60-70 lb weights upright on end while other individuals are on the floor stretching/working out. If somebody accidentally bump the weight it will cause serious injury if if falls on somebody's head. Previously there have been narrow misses but people still continue to balance weights on end in this area.

Report a concern   May 19, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by E.R. Genesis Health Clubs
What do you like about our club?

Great facility.

Report a concern   May 19, 2017 — Rated 5 out of 10 by J.S. Genesis Health Clubs
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

1. It would be nice to see the cleaning crew come in during later hours so you don't have to avoid them during your workout.

2. There are a ridiculous number of 25# and 35# plates in the gym. Any given machine needs only a single pair of each... not two or 3.

3. Conversely, there are not enough 2/12, 5 and 10# plates in the gym.

4. There's often an inability to work a circuit in the free weight area, because if you leave a machine for a minute, it can be taken by someone else waiting for the same machine. There are several solutions to this:
a. Perform a survey to see which machines are used most and which are used least.
b. Infrequently used machines should be replaced by higher demand machines. For examples, some machines appear to NEVER be used.
c. If the treadmill and stair machines are not more fully utilized, consider expanding the weight and weight machine areas.

5. There are not enough of the light, easy to use plastic weight collars for the benches.

6. If you want folks to use their ID cards, just leave the scanner on the counter instead of having us hand our cards to an employee to do something we can do.

7. Consider removing some of the many unused staff desks, cubes that sit idle nearly all the time. This space could be used much better.

8. Finally, I know many of these issues were inherited from 24-hour. But, the focus since the change in ownership seems to have been only on adding new members to increase profits. It's time to focus on the members you do have and improve the workout experience - especially for those of us who have been loyal to this location for many years.

On a positive note, taking the time to request real feedback is a step in the right direction. I hope ownership listens though and that this was not just a feel-good exercise to pacify us.


Privacy Policy