Lion House Broad Street
Herefordshire HR6 8BT
United Kingdom

Average rating: 7.6 out of 10 based on 4311 ratings.

What our customers think of us!

The following comments were submitted by our customers when asked to provide feedback on our service. In the interest of transparency, we present these comments as provided except that personally identifiable information has been hidden unless the reviewer has requested their full name be included with the review. No unfavorable comments have been removed.

Report a concern   April 6, 2016 — Rated 5 out of 10 by J.W. Halo
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

lane swimming not available over easter

Report a concern   March 28, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by Christopher James Davis Halo
What do you like about our services?

Great centre. Staff have been a credit to Halo especially since the closure. Helping out in other buildings and redecorating the centre. A fantastic team. Can't wait to get the family back there again.

Report a concern   February 26, 2016 — Rated 5 out of 10 by J.F.T. Halo
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

The time it has taken to get the main swimming pool back into operation. If I had to pay to use the pool I would be even more disappointed. It is the only pool in the area, when working, that is a pleasure to use. It is not the staff's fault, but halo senior management.

Report a concern   February 19, 2016 — Rated 5 out of 10 by S.W. Halo
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

One of your colleagues introduced me to halo & encouraged me to join also went with me to around 6 classes and then nothing so excuse me for being a little disappointed.

Response from Maesteg Sports Centre:

The customer was thanked for their feedback and invited to come in for a goal setting personal plan with one of the staff

Report a concern   February 15, 2016 — Rated 9 out of 10 by M.B. Halo
What do you like about our services?

Staff are very friendly and helpful

Report a concern   February 14, 2016 — Rated 9 out of 10 by C.B. Halo
What do you like about our services?

The new centre is great. It would be good if there was a Pilates session in the morning as there used to be. I work a shift of 12:30 to 8 pm every day so can only attend morning classes.

Report a concern   February 14, 2016 — Rated 3 out of 10 by N.S. Halo
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

Cleanliness of the centre. Have you noticed how untidy the gym is? The glass in studios is caked with hand prints.
Exercise mats smell of sweat.

Response from Bridgend Life Centre:

Thank you for your comments.

We have a regular cleaning programme that the staff follow. How ever if you feel that we are not meeting your expectations or an area is not up to a suitable standard please report it to the gym supervisor or a member of staff so we can rectify immediately.

Report a concern   February 13, 2016 — Rated 5 out of 10 by R.A. Halo
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

Gym machines always take weeks to repair. The treadmill is still out of order after 3 weeks.

Report a concern   February 11, 2016 — Rated 9 out of 10 by A.W. Halo
What do you like about our services?

Friendly staff for most. Facilities are pretty good, a lot better than they were.

Report a concern   February 11, 2016 — Rated 7 out of 10 by A.P. Halo
What could we do to improve?

1.front of office staff need to improve their interaction with members of the public.
2. centre managers need to listen more to the staff they manage and learn not to air there feelings in the ear shot of public....very unprofessional.
3. Gym equipment needs to be regularly updated and improved. I see regular younger members leaving for new local gyms that pop up. Whilst, they can't offer swimming pools, badminton courts etc... the gym equipment is new and modern machine.
4. Gym staff need to interact with users and offer friendly advice and support...

Response from Bridgend Life Centre:

Thank you for your comments.

There is an expectation on all our staff to follow Halos core values .This is supported with customer service training. Please accept my apologies if you feel that the staff were acting unprofessional at the time of your visit.

Report a concern   February 11, 2016 — Rated 8 out of 10 by C.O.D. Halo
What could we do to improve?

excellent service, friendly staff and classes/pool/gym/climbing wall are all fantastic activities for the young people I work with. There has been a number of occasions in the past where I have been on my way down to the climbing wall with young people from the DASH YES project and the climbing sessions have been cancelled which leaves me with no other activities available for them. Although this hasn't happened for a number of weeks so pleased to say improvements are already being made.

Report a concern   February 10, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by A.H. Halo
What do you like about our services?

Friendly and helpful staff Leisure centre is up to date

Report a concern   February 10, 2016 — Rated 8 out of 10 by K.R. Halo
What could we do to improve?

For the past month it has been difficult to get into certain classes both in the day and evening due to their popularity eg, Zumba on Wed mornings, and yoga Tues Eve and Wednesday morning.

Even trying to book well in advance, I have failed.
Is there a possibility of larger space available in order to cater for the larger numbers in these popular classes.
I understand the argument that numbers drop off after January, however this doesn't appear to be happening in this case.

Report a concern   February 10, 2016 — Rated 3 out of 10 by R.D. Halo
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

The steam room has been stopping since the halo opened in October and still has problems to date. The shower has been out of action for almost 3 months outside the spa and had to walk the length of the pool to get a shower to then walk all the way back.The lockers have been stressful as the key will not work so on many occasions had to change lockers several times. When I have attended aqua classes, I have had real difficulty in breathing when deodorant makes it's way to the pool and It sure doesn't help my asthma. I have reported this twice and wrote a card of complaint but still continues to happen. Even one of your halo reps said that the spray is very strong. So I feel uncomfortable attend Ross pool and find myself travelling unnecessarily to Hereford instead, causing me extra travelling time and expense. I also notice there is no water machine in the spa area,and the nearest water machine to fill our bottles is in the exercise room where upon you would have to be dressed to go through the reception area and is not convenient when there is a class going on in there. This disturbs the other users in that class when you open the door and use the water bottle filler.

Report a concern   February 9, 2016 — Rated 6 out of 10 by M.L. Halo
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

Review your car parking in light of my recent experience and parking fine of £45 inflicted by Corporate Services. Your car park has a number of deficiencies as follows:-
1. There is no provision for vehicles larger than a small city car without customers inflicting damage to other cars.My only vehicle (a VW California camper van is wider than a small city car and requires more room to open the doors to safely enter & leave the vehicle). It has been damaged due to this restriction.
2. There is no provision for Mother/Father and Child parking.
3. There is no provision for safe pedestrian movement i.e. no marked walkways.
4. There is insufficient parking allocation for disabled customers or those with limited movement. The width of the marked spaces is too narrow for the safe use of the car park.
5. The company 'Corporate Services' who 'Police' your car park are too heavy handed in the treatment of your customers. Many park on Holmer Road side to avoid your car parking.
6. If you wish to encourage more customers I suggest you review your parking facilities and the draconian rule enforcement.
As for the facilities they are good except the excessive noise of the Indoor Cycling (Spin) shouting which I see you are addressing by enclosing & hopefully sound proofing the room.

Report a concern   February 9, 2016 — Rated 7 out of 10 by A.K. Halo
What could we do to improve?

With Ynysawdre being closed, I've visited this pool during the lunch hour but find that there appears to be a dedicated central lane for the sole use of some very fast swimmers who swim in convoy. The waves that they create makes it very difficult for the rest of us, so much so that I've gone under and swallowed water on a couple of occasions. I no longer visit the pool in the lunch hour, which would be my preferred time, because of this and there are other ladies who have said the same thing. I feel that what appears to be a dedicated lane for these people shouldn't be allowed as its a municipal pool. Your staff are lovely, however.

Report a concern   February 9, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by Tracey Williams Halo
What do you like about our services?

Friendly, efficient staff.

Report a concern   February 8, 2016 — Rated 9 out of 10 by S.F. Halo
What do you like about our services?

Friendly, helpful staff

Report a concern   February 8, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by Christine Harvey Halo
What do you like about our services?

Friendly staff, fun classes and a nice atmosphere. Not intimidating like other gyms.

Report a concern   February 8, 2016 — Rated 1 out of 10 by S.L. Halo
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

closed for months

Privacy Policy