The Little Gym of Kingston
470 Kings Mall Court
Kingston
New York 12401
United States

Average rating: 9.4 out of 10 based on 246 ratings.

What our members think of us!

The following comments were submitted by our customers when asked to provide feedback on our service. In the interest of transparency, we present these comments as provided except that personally identifiable information has been hidden unless the reviewer has requested their full name be included with the review. No unfavorable comments have been removed.

Report a concern   August 29, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by R.F. The Little Gym of Kingston
What do you like about our programs?

I think that the instructors that my son has had have genuinely cared about him and his classmates. That's a big deal. Miss Taylor was wonderful, and Miss Melanie is AMAZING!

Report a concern   August 12, 2016 — Rated 9 out of 10 by I.N. The Little Gym of Kingston
What do you like about our programs?

It's a great way for our 3 year old to socialize in an organized group setting, burn off some energy, and have fun. She loves her "school!"

Report a concern   August 10, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by Kelley Hedin The Little Gym of Kingston
What do you like about our programs?

Although crucial growth skills are embedded into the curriculum, the free spirit of the classes allows students to own their learning and develop at their own pace. The tone is encouraging and supportive, and let's not forget the fun. The students are happy!

Report a concern   August 6, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by Avery Gilbert The Little Gym of Kingston
What do you like about our programs?

Mr. Will is a huge hit. The staff are incredible, patient as all get out with the kids, creative, adapt to demands etcetera. Very well run programs. Real pros.

Report a concern   August 3, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by J.M. The Little Gym of Kingston
What do you like about our programs?

We've had our daughter in and out of classes at The Little Gym since she was an infant and we keep coming back because she loves all of the programs! Mr. Will is also amazing!

Report a concern   August 3, 2016 — Rated 0 out of 10 by M.B. The Little Gym of Kingston
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

I am very disappointed with the Pre-K Gymnastics class. The first 30 minutes (half of the class!) is wasted (IMO) doing things that have absolutely nothing to do with gymnastics. Sitting in a circle, waving scarves around, pretending to be asleep, hide & seek, etc. I'm paying for my daughter to learn gymnastics skills, not to play nursery games for half an hour. She can get that experience at preschool. I don't feel that the gym equipment is being utilized enough. I also expected that basic acro floor skills would be introduced. My 3.5 year old came into this already knowing how to do a forward roll and is eager to learn more. A couple of turns rolling down an angled mat (which she personally doesn't need the assistance of), hanging from the bar for a few seconds, and a couple of turns on the balance beam just aren't cutting it.

Another concern I have is a lack of supervision. Several times, I have witnessed my daughter wandering off from her group and climbing up on the high balance beam by herself and it took forever for someone to notice! Also, when it is her turn to do something, oftentimes the teacher is talking to another child and is not even focused on her.

Lastly, when I initially enrolled my daughter in this class I was charged a $40 membership fee, which was presented to me as mandatory. The very next week, I overheard another parent enrolling their child with a different employee at the desk, and the membership fee was presented as optional and that parent got away with not paying it! When I questioned it, I was told that the employee should not have said that and that my $40 could not be refunded, but they would give me a $40 credit on my account instead that can be used for classes, merchandise, etc. Now that we are more than halfway through the session I am absolutely certain that we will not be taking any future classes, and I don't want to have to "use up" the credit by purchasing an overpriced leotard or t-shirt. I would really appreciate being refunded in cash as the membership will not be used.

Response from The Little Gym of Kingston:

Melissa - I’m so glad that we were able to speak a few days after you wrote this. I’m thrilled to hear that your daughter enjoys the class and looks forward to it every week. Also, now that I had a chance to better explain in detail what The Little Gym and our curriculum is all about and I couldn’t be happier to hear that you are now considering enrollment for the Fall Season! I am finally writing this response publicly so that anyone who reads this post can get a better sense of what The Little Gym is all about.
Our curriculum is based on 3 dimensional learning: 1: “Get Moving” (gymnastics, skill growth and overall motor skill development) 2: “Brain Boost” (cognitive development) and 3: “Citizen Kid” (social & emotional skills). Our hour long Pre-K class is divided into parts where we do an opening circle to get the kids comfortable and working together as a group. We do a fun warm up to directive music that gets the kids moving and stretching but also stimulates their imagination and keeps them motivated and excited. We then do a group activity that fosters cooperation and team building and many other “Citizen Kid” elements of the lesson plan.

The remaining 40 minutes of class are broken down into 3 small groups where we rotate the kids through all of the equipment. Each week at each station we have a specific “skill of focus” that we are focused on teaching them but instead of sitting and waiting for their turn the kids are encouraged to move through an obstacle course while the instructor spots children at the skill of the focus for that week. Our curriculum has been honed over 40 years through the Little Gym franchise and is designed to grow skills, give progressions up and down for children with different skill levels and also to keep the kids excited, motivated and having fun.

As for the $40 membership – This is part of our tuition – one needs to be a member in order to enroll in classes at The Little Gym. The $40 annual membership is per family not per child. Members who are enrolled in a class receive all kinds of awesome member benefits! We have a loyalty program. We also offer free additional classes every week called “Practice Times” where anyone who is enrolled in a class can sign up to attend. During practice times we review the “skill of focus” in each station that we presented in class the previous week. These weekly opportunities to take an additional class every week are free if you are an active member enrolled in a class. Practice times are a great additional skill building opportunity for members who take advantage of it. Members also receive discounts on our drop in camps, birthday parties, and Parent’s Survival Nights.

Should anyone reading this have questions about our program regarding pricing, how our classes are structured and designed to benefit the different developmental milestones of children at different ages, or anything please please don’t hesitate to contact me personally anytime at msidor@thelittlegym.com. We take much pride in our classes and make sure to offer a well-rounded experience filled with lots of skill growth and 3 dimensional learning!

Sincerely,
Mercedes Sidor
Owner / Gym Director

Report a concern   August 3, 2016 — Rated 9 out of 10 by Denise Hoyt The Little Gym of Kingston
What do you like about our programs?

Flexibility, great staff, nice atmosphere.

Report a concern   July 27, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by C.K. The Little Gym of Kingston
What do you like about our programs?

Focus on fun rather than "formal" gymnastics and dance so my daughter can be the expressive person she is! Staff is wonderful, program is well organized.

Report a concern   June 18, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by D.C. The Little Gym of Kingston
What do you like about our programs?

Everyone is nice. There is no pressure on the kids. The environment is fun and the teachers are great

Report a concern   June 15, 2016 — Rated 5 out of 10 by M.W. The Little Gym of Kingston
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

Too many teacher changes,all teaching different routines.

Report a concern   May 25, 2016 — Rated 5 out of 10 by L.G. The Little Gym of Kingston
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

We have been members a little over three years but we're disappointed most of this year with the constant turn over of staff. We didn't feel confident talking to the teachers and didn't feel like they knew our child or our child's ability level.

Report a concern   May 23, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by W.T. The Little Gym of Kingston
What do you like about our programs?

Great program, friendly staff

Report a concern   April 30, 2016 — Rated 8 out of 10 by N.R. The Little Gym of Kingston
What could we do to improve?

I love the programs at the little gym for birth-3, however wish there was an advanced class for kids currently enrolled in gymnastics class.

Report a concern   April 26, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by Rebecca Vogel The Little Gym of Kingston
What do you like about our programs?

The staff is always friendly. Very accommodating with switching classes around for me to work around my work schedule. My daughter and I always have fun together when we go.

Report a concern   April 24, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by J.W. The Little Gym of Kingston
What do you like about our programs?

Everything

Report a concern   April 21, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by J.K. The Little Gym of Kingston
What do you like about our programs?

I love the energy of the teachers, as well as the different activities & themes the class has.

Report a concern   March 10, 2016 — Rated 9 out of 10 by P.S. The Little Gym of Kingston
What do you like about our programs?

Very welcoming. Have been beneficial to the growth of my child.

Report a concern   March 6, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by K.G. The Little Gym of Kingston
What do you like about our programs?

Miss Melanie. She is the best.

Miss Taylor is good too.

They engage our kid the most and seem to sincerely like the kids!

Report a concern   March 1, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by J.H. The Little Gym of Kingston
What do you like about our programs?

Everything

Report a concern   February 17, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by Nancy Vance The Little Gym of Kingston
What do you like about our programs?

We like everything about your programs. Our 4-year old grand daughter has been coming to classes since she was an infant. She is now in a gymnastics class that she loves. She had her 4th birthday party at the Little Gym - it was wonderful! Thank you Little Gym - your classes and very age appropriate & your staff is the best!


Privacy Policy