Sylvan of Fredericton
900 Hanwell Rd Carriage Place
Fredericton
New Brunswick E3B 6A2
Canada

Average rating: 8.9 out of 10 based on 124 ratings.

What our customers think of us!

The following comments were submitted by our customers when asked to provide feedback on our service. In the interest of transparency, we present these comments as provided except that personally identifiable information has been hidden unless the reviewer has requested their full name be included with the review. No unfavorable comments have been removed.

Report a concern   November 21, 2016 — Rated 7 out of 10 by T.J. Sylvan of Fredericton
What could we do to improve?

Hi, I love your service and would recommend to every one. But, I wouldn't recommend you to someone I know is unable to afford your services. However, if money wasn't a factor then I would suggest you to everyone.

Report a concern   October 23, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by Elizabeth Morrison Sylvan of Fredericton
What do you like about our services?

Although we are new to Sylvan, we are very pleased. Our daughter has worked mostly with Daryl, and she has great confidence in his breadth of knowledge and his ability to explain things to her. They are working mostly on Algebra (and some Math), and it is very reassuring that he seems to have such a good handle on the FHS curriculum. Thank you for your help.

Report a concern   October 22, 2016 — Rated 6 out of 10 by T.C. Sylvan of Fredericton
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

There was no evluation for my son who is in a francophone school. The evaluation process was english. My son speaks english but he does not read english yet. He started a program based on what I thought his issues were. I was also disappointed with the quality of the french teacher assigned to my son. Recently a new teacher has been introduced but he has only had one session with her so it is too early to give an opinion.

Response from Sylvan of Fredericton:

I wish that I could say that we are able to offer full assessments in French, but unfortunately, I cannot. What we do, and are sure to clearly communicate this fact, is discuss a student's circumstances with the student, the parents, and (when possible) their classroom teachers to identify areas that need improvement. For math, depending on the English abilities of the student, our regular math assessment is certainly helpful, though we always have a French teacher administering that assessment in case of terminology issues. For reading and writing, however, we have no choice but to use the above methods.

We have been working rather hard on a writing program with this student, and according to everyone involved, teachers included, it is going very well. He is always excited to come in and sit down and get directly to work too! We'll continue to monitor this situation carefully to be sure that he, like all of our students, get all the support and assistance possible.

Report a concern   October 21, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by Monique Comeau Sylvan of Fredericton
What do you like about our services?

quality of learning, flexibility of instructor (Daryl) and his genuine interest in my daughter's learning

Report a concern   October 19, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by Tammie Holland Sylvan of Fredericton
What do you like about our services?

They are flexible, very courteous and not only tutor the student but work on building their self confidence. They teach students in a way that makes sense to them as individuals. Thank you Daryl and your team for your dedication to our children!

Report a concern   October 18, 2016 — Rated 9 out of 10 by S.C. Sylvan of Fredericton
What do you like about our services?

Flexible and easy to work with staff.

Report a concern   October 15, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by S.K. Sylvan of Fredericton
What do you like about our services?

Very accommodating to out schedule

Report a concern   October 12, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by M.R. Sylvan of Fredericton
What do you like about our services?

Thank You for all the help tutoring Emily over the years :)

Report a concern   October 11, 2016 — Rated 9 out of 10 by A.N. Sylvan of Fredericton
What do you like about our services?

The fact that the kids are happy when they are done their lesson. I can see their confidence growing with each lesson.

Report a concern   October 10, 2016 — Rated 9 out of 10 by Kathy Le Blanc Sylvan of Fredericton
What do you like about our services?

Nice staff who help promote fun learning for our son .

Report a concern   October 9, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by S.K. Sylvan of Fredericton
What do you like about our services?

Kind and competent help for our daughter. Has boosted her self-confidence over the years and she is always happy to be there.

Report a concern   October 8, 2016 — Rated 7 out of 10 by K.P. Sylvan of Fredericton
What could we do to improve?

Need a separate system for kids with anxiety

Response from Sylvan of Fredericton:

We did provide a separate system, even making arrangements to teach him one-on-one initially. We will not ever provide in-house tutoring for the safety and security of our teachers and students. It's a shame that the student was unable to step foot in the center with other students being in attendance, but we wish him and your family all the best.

Report a concern   October 7, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by C.L. Sylvan of Fredericton
What do you like about our services?

I like the staff and the positive learning environment

Report a concern   September 6, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by O.B. Sylvan of Fredericton
What do you like about our services?

friendly office. open door policy. flexible schedules

Report a concern   September 6, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by S.O. Sylvan of Fredericton
What do you like about our services?

Availability of sc scheduling sessions and how helpful these have been for my child.

Report a concern   September 1, 2016 — Rated 8 out of 10 by T.D. Sylvan of Fredericton
What could we do to improve?

Sylvan was helpful improving my child's math skills. The area of concern was she did not have a consistent instructor. Every week she would arrive and not know who she would be working with. There were too many times when her teacher did not know what she was working on and what she should be doing on any given night. If she were to return we would like for her to work with the same teacher. She always had the same appointment time but the staff was always different. I also feel that when you pay for an hour there should be an hour of instruction.

Response from Sylvan of Fredericton:

We're sorry you got that impression. Your daughter was with the same instructor every Monday, and a different (but consistent) instructor every Wednesday to take advantage of their individual strengths in helping her reach her maximum potential. She did very well in her writing program, as she had done with her math program.

Report a concern   August 26, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by Julie Green Sylvan of Fredericton
What do you like about our services?

Education is so important. It is hard to find challenging camps for my son and he loved the robotics camp you provided.

Report a concern   August 19, 2016 — Rated 8 out of 10 by J.M. Sylvan of Fredericton
What could we do to improve?

I am not able to get progress reports online and I have not met my sons teacher or received any feedback

Response from Sylvan of Fredericton:

Thank you for your feedback. We do apologize for being unable to log into My Sylvan. We were not aware of this until we received the above comment. I do believe that has been corrected.

Report a concern   June 27, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by L.M. Sylvan of Fredericton
What do you like about our services?

very professional give the children the best possible help very pleased so far.

Thanks

Report a concern   June 13, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by A.O. Sylvan of Fredericton
What do you like about our services?

Avery spoke highly of the tutors involved and felt he accomplished what he set out to do. Dealing with your organization was a good experience. Policies and rules were clear with some flexibility with schedules. We are very appreciative with how quickly we were able to set things up. :)
Thank you for your help.


Privacy Policy