Sylvan of Midland
108A West Wackerly
Midland
Michigan 48640
United States

Average rating: 8.9 out of 10 based on 122 ratings.

What our customers think of us!

The following comments were submitted by our customers when asked to provide feedback on our service. In the interest of transparency, we present these comments as provided except that personally identifiable information has been hidden unless the reviewer has requested their full name be included with the review. No unfavorable comments have been removed.

Report a concern   March 2, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by J.A.V.L. Sylvan of Midland
What do you like about our services?

Very friendly and great progress seen with our child! Fun learning environment!

Report a concern   January 19, 2017 — Rated 8 out of 10 by S.A.M.G. Sylvan of Midland
What could we do to improve?

Sometimes the communication lacks

Response from Sylvan of Midland:

At Sylvan, we feel communication is of the utmost importance, so we meet with each family on a monthly basis. We also welcome any suggestions, questions or concerns at any time in an effort to address any possible issues. We meet with classroom teachers to discuss our findings as well as any needs they feel the students might have that would be appropriate for our individualized attention. Tackling a child's educational needs should be a team effort.

Report a concern   December 19, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by Jamie And Lance Rynearson Sylvan of Midland
What do you like about our services?

Our entire experience with Sylvan has been above and beyond expectations. From our first communication we have felt welcome and communication has been clear. Goals are realistic and our child is feeling accomplished! She enjoys all her mentors and is excited to go. We couldn't ask for a better environment!

Report a concern   December 15, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by S.P. Sylvan of Midland
What do you like about our services?

Tailored to each child and progress reports. Online access

Report a concern   November 15, 2016 — Rated 6 out of 10 by P.A.C.G. Sylvan of Midland
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

Stop pitching to sign up for more classes. At the parent teacher meetings, don't be in a rush to get the parent's signature on the performance review form. Take time to discuss the child's strengths and areas of improvement. I get the sense that the coordinator is trying to tick off the items in a check list. Also, be warm and friendly in your interactions.

Report a concern   October 27, 2016 — Rated 9 out of 10 by B.A.A.M. Sylvan of Midland
What do you like about our services?

The people we have met at Sylvan are very knowledgeable about teaching and what seems to work best for our son. All the Sylvan employees that we have worked with are eager and happy to help in all matters.

Report a concern   October 26, 2016 — Rated 8 out of 10 by C.A.J.C. Sylvan of Midland
What could we do to improve?

Sylvan needs to offer more discounts to their long-term customers. At ~$50/hour, it becomes very cost prohibitive to continue the service when your child is trying to meet 2 - 4 hours per week, e.g. $100-$200/week. Investing in a child's education is the best investment someone can make; however, it has to be reasonable. At $50/hour, it is more expensive than college credit hours.

Report a concern   August 18, 2016 — Rated 8 out of 10 by J.T. Sylvan of Midland
What could we do to improve?

There were a few minor issue I had logging into the website and my step son had some issues too. Also, he missed two classes and the only option to make up the work was for his to do two 1 on 1 sessions at an additional cost. I think the 1 on 1 sessions should have been offered at a discounted cost (maybe 50%). Given that it's summer, you would expect that kids will miss some sessions.

Report a concern   August 11, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by J.A.J.M. Sylvan of Midland
What do you like about our services?

helpful learning math

Report a concern   July 29, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by P.A.D.P. Sylvan of Midland
What do you like about our services?

Good teacher to pupil ratio. The structure keeps our grand-daughter's interest in learning. She is showing improvement.

Report a concern   June 14, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by M.S. Sylvan of Midland
What do you like about our services?

The homework help is wonderful.

Report a concern   June 8, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by Laura Baldauf Sylvan of Midland
What do you like about our services?

very accommodating with schedules
some of the kindest people I've met are employed there
my daughters are excelling because of the support

Report a concern   June 2, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by D.A.J.S. Sylvan of Midland
What do you like about our services?

The friendly people and great service!

Report a concern   May 6, 2016 — Rated 7 out of 10 by K.O. Sylvan of Midland
What could we do to improve?

I would appreciate the opportunity to speak directly with my child's teacher.

Report a concern   April 14, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by D.A.P.D. Sylvan of Midland
What do you like about our services?

The lessons seems to work especially for my daughter. My son seems to be a slower learner but he is learning.

Report a concern   April 2, 2016 — Rated 9 out of 10 by C.A.S.P. Sylvan of Midland
What do you like about our services?

Flexibility in changing schedules and keep us up to date on the progress of our daughters learning

Report a concern   March 23, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by S.A.J.P. Sylvan of Midland
What do you like about our services?

The staff. My son has not always been very open to learning, or help of any kind and he enjoys attending his sessions at Sylvan.

Report a concern   March 17, 2016 — Rated 9 out of 10 by S.P. Sylvan of Midland
What do you like about our services?

SAT and ACT Prep Courses are taught by a dedicated staff who are trying very hard to stay ahead of the testing changes of the College Board.

Report a concern   March 10, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by Denise And Sean Carson* Sylvan of Midland
What do you like about our services?

We like the fact that Sylvan gives us lots of detailed feedback on what our son is doing and more importantly, how he is doing. We also like that besides academic skills, Sylvan also teaches organizational and social skills. So far it has been a great program.

Report a concern   March 8, 2016 — Rated 7 out of 10 by P.A.K.D. Sylvan of Midland
What could we do to improve?

It is too early to say If we would recommend Sylvan to a friend. We would like first to see Salomé's SAT results to confirm that Sylvan helps her to improve.
Based on Salomé's feedback, some teachers are better than other or at least, some teachers are a better fit for Salomé. For instance, Salomé enjoy working with Carla. She is good at adapting to the pace of the student. Rebecca goes at a slower pace. So as a result, Salomé prefers to work by herself. Thanks for asking for our feedback.


Privacy Policy