Sylvan of Midland
108A West Wackerly
Midland
Michigan 48640
United States

Average rating: 8.9 out of 10 based on 126 ratings.

What our customers think of us!

The following comments were submitted by our customers when asked to provide feedback on our service. In the interest of transparency, we present these comments as provided except that personally identifiable information has been hidden unless the reviewer has requested their full name be included with the review. No unfavorable comments have been removed.

Report a concern   October 16, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by L.G. Sylvan of Midland
What do you like about our services?

The director is friendly and informative, the teachers are great, and we've seen a big improvement in our daughter's school performance

Report a concern   September 14, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by M.A.M.S. Sylvan of Midland
What do you like about our services?

Accommodating to busy schedules.

Report a concern   September 11, 2017 — Rated 9 out of 10 by J.A.N.Z. Sylvan of Midland
What do you like about our services?

Flexibility with schedule, and special attention with limited students in training.

Report a concern   September 10, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by R.A.M.L. Sylvan of Midland
What do you like about our services?

Friendly, positive learning environment that finds key areas for learning development

Report a concern   August 15, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by J.A.C.A. Sylvan of Midland
What do you like about our services?

My son enjoys going to tutoring. He never complains. That hasn't happened before. Plus, all the staff I have dealt with is pleasant and professional. Most importantly, my son is improving on schedule.

Report a concern   August 11, 2017 — Rated 6 out of 10 by L.A.A.B.V.S. Sylvan of Midland
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

Billing was awkward, makes families feel like they're always behind! Lack of communication from certain staff, child not put into Math tutoring for 1/2 the summer, meeting mishandled, and forgotten.

Response from Sylvan of Midland:

From the start, we encourage families to contact us with any questions or concerns they may have, to give us the opportunity to rectify whatever they are unhappy with. Sometimes, a simple explanation suffices. Our top priority is for our students and their families to have the best possible experience, but we cannot address any issues until we know they exist.

Report a concern   July 13, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by C.A.M.J. Sylvan of Midland
What do you like about our services?

We are very new to Sylvan yet, however we are very Thankful for the Great customer service we are receiving.

Report a concern   March 2, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by J.A.V.L. Sylvan of Midland
What do you like about our services?

Very friendly and great progress seen with our child! Fun learning environment!

Report a concern   December 19, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by Jamie And Lance Rynearson Sylvan of Midland
What do you like about our services?

Our entire experience with Sylvan has been above and beyond expectations. From our first communication we have felt welcome and communication has been clear. Goals are realistic and our child is feeling accomplished! She enjoys all her mentors and is excited to go. We couldn't ask for a better environment!

Report a concern   December 15, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by S.P. Sylvan of Midland
What do you like about our services?

Tailored to each child and progress reports. Online access

Report a concern   November 15, 2016 — Rated 6 out of 10 by P.A.C.G. Sylvan of Midland
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

Stop pitching to sign up for more classes. At the parent teacher meetings, don't be in a rush to get the parent's signature on the performance review form. Take time to discuss the child's strengths and areas of improvement. I get the sense that the coordinator is trying to tick off the items in a check list. Also, be warm and friendly in your interactions.

Report a concern   October 27, 2016 — Rated 9 out of 10 by B.A.A.M. Sylvan of Midland
What do you like about our services?

The people we have met at Sylvan are very knowledgeable about teaching and what seems to work best for our son. All the Sylvan employees that we have worked with are eager and happy to help in all matters.

Report a concern   October 26, 2016 — Rated 8 out of 10 by C.A.J.C. Sylvan of Midland
What could we do to improve?

Sylvan needs to offer more discounts to their long-term customers. At ~$50/hour, it becomes very cost prohibitive to continue the service when your child is trying to meet 2 - 4 hours per week, e.g. $100-$200/week. Investing in a child's education is the best investment someone can make; however, it has to be reasonable. At $50/hour, it is more expensive than college credit hours.

Report a concern   August 18, 2016 — Rated 8 out of 10 by J.T. Sylvan of Midland
What could we do to improve?

There were a few minor issue I had logging into the website and my step son had some issues too. Also, he missed two classes and the only option to make up the work was for his to do two 1 on 1 sessions at an additional cost. I think the 1 on 1 sessions should have been offered at a discounted cost (maybe 50%). Given that it's summer, you would expect that kids will miss some sessions.

Report a concern   August 11, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by J.A.J.M. Sylvan of Midland
What do you like about our services?

helpful learning math

Report a concern   June 14, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by M.S. Sylvan of Midland
What do you like about our services?

The homework help is wonderful.

Report a concern   June 8, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by Laura Baldauf Sylvan of Midland
What do you like about our services?

very accommodating with schedules
some of the kindest people I've met are employed there
my daughters are excelling because of the support

Report a concern   June 2, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by D.A.J.S. Sylvan of Midland
What do you like about our services?

The friendly people and great service!

Report a concern   May 6, 2016 — Rated 7 out of 10 by K.O. Sylvan of Midland
What could we do to improve?

I would appreciate the opportunity to speak directly with my child's teacher.

Report a concern   April 14, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by D.A.P.D. Sylvan of Midland
What do you like about our services?

The lessons seems to work especially for my daughter. My son seems to be a slower learner but he is learning.


Privacy Policy