Sylvan of Midland
108A West Wackerly
Midland
Michigan 48640
United States

Average rating: 8.9 out of 10 based on 119 ratings.

What our customers think of us!

The following comments were submitted by our customers when asked to provide feedback on our service. In the interest of transparency, we present these comments as provided except that personally identifiable information has been hidden unless the reviewer has requested their full name be included with the review. No unfavorable comments have been removed.

Report a concern   August 18, 2016 — Rated 8 out of 10 by J.T. Sylvan of Midland
What could we do to improve?

There were a few minor issue I had logging into the website and my step son had some issues too. Also, he missed two classes and the only option to make up the work was for his to do two 1 on 1 sessions at an additional cost. I think the 1 on 1 sessions should have been offered at a discounted cost (maybe 50%). Given that it's summer, you would expect that kids will miss some sessions.

Report a concern   August 11, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by J.A.J.M. Sylvan of Midland
What do you like about our services?

helpful learning math

Report a concern   July 29, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by P.A.D.P. Sylvan of Midland
What do you like about our services?

Good teacher to pupil ratio. The structure keeps our grand-daughter's interest in learning. She is showing improvement.

Report a concern   June 16, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by C.O. Sylvan of Midland
What do you like about our services?

Customized

Report a concern   June 14, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by M.S. Sylvan of Midland
What do you like about our services?

The homework help is wonderful.

Report a concern   June 13, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by Cindy And John Coon Sylvan of Midland
What do you like about our services?

Very high quality of learning experience with timely feedback on students progress. Flexibility of working around kids and parents hectic schedules is greatly appreciated.

Report a concern   June 8, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by Laura Baldauf Sylvan of Midland
What do you like about our services?

very accommodating with schedules
some of the kindest people I've met are employed there
my daughters are excelling because of the support

Report a concern   June 2, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by D.A.J.S. Sylvan of Midland
What do you like about our services?

The friendly people and great service!

Report a concern   May 20, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by Maggie Ried Sylvan of Midland
What do you like about our services?

I love how they make learning fun. My daughter loves going to her classes.

Report a concern   May 6, 2016 — Rated 7 out of 10 by K.O. Sylvan of Midland
What could we do to improve?

I would appreciate the opportunity to speak directly with my child's teacher.

Report a concern   April 14, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by D.A.P.D. Sylvan of Midland
What do you like about our services?

The lessons seems to work especially for my daughter. My son seems to be a slower learner but he is learning.

Report a concern   April 2, 2016 — Rated 9 out of 10 by C.A.S.P. Sylvan of Midland
What do you like about our services?

Flexibility in changing schedules and keep us up to date on the progress of our daughters learning

Report a concern   March 23, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by S.A.J.P. Sylvan of Midland
What do you like about our services?

The staff. My son has not always been very open to learning, or help of any kind and he enjoys attending his sessions at Sylvan.

Report a concern   March 17, 2016 — Rated 9 out of 10 by S.P. Sylvan of Midland
What do you like about our services?

SAT and ACT Prep Courses are taught by a dedicated staff who are trying very hard to stay ahead of the testing changes of the College Board.

Report a concern   March 10, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by Denise And Sean Carson* Sylvan of Midland
What do you like about our services?

We like the fact that Sylvan gives us lots of detailed feedback on what our son is doing and more importantly, how he is doing. We also like that besides academic skills, Sylvan also teaches organizational and social skills. So far it has been a great program.

Report a concern   March 8, 2016 — Rated 7 out of 10 by P.A.K.D. Sylvan of Midland
What could we do to improve?

It is too early to say If we would recommend Sylvan to a friend. We would like first to see Salomé's SAT results to confirm that Sylvan helps her to improve.
Based on Salomé's feedback, some teachers are better than other or at least, some teachers are a better fit for Salomé. For instance, Salomé enjoy working with Carla. She is good at adapting to the pace of the student. Rebecca goes at a slower pace. So as a result, Salomé prefers to work by herself. Thanks for asking for our feedback.

Report a concern   January 27, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by William And Roxanne Vazquez Sylvan of Midland
What do you like about our services?

Personal attention, structure, focus on mastering basics prior to going to the next level.
Cathy Ringey is very dedicated and professional. The staff makes my son feel at ease with the subjects .

Report a concern   October 19, 2015 — Rated 5 out of 10 by I.H. Sylvan of Midland
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

Can't evaluate until we see how my daughter performs on her next ACT.

Response from Sylvan of Midland:

Most of our students say our ACT Prep program helps them with test-taking in general. As they work directly with teachers, complete homework and practice tests, and analyze errors on Sylvan TestPrep online, they see their improvements and gain confidence. They all, of course, are looking to improve their scores. Average increases have been 4-5 points for students who complete all components of the program.

Report a concern   August 30, 2015 — Rated 10 out of 10 by M.A.W. Sylvan of Midland
What do you like about our services?

You offer a variety of services to help different types of students. My experience with your Midland office has always been positive.

Report a concern   August 21, 2015 — Rated 10 out of 10 by G.A.D.W. Sylvan of Midland
What do you like about our services?

They are flexible and staff is very friendly and helpful.


Privacy Policy