Sylvan of Amherst
4927 Main Street
Amherst
New York 14226
United States

Average rating: 8.9 out of 10 based on 137 ratings.

What our customers think of us!

The following comments were submitted by our customers when asked to provide feedback on our service. In the interest of transparency, we present these comments as provided except that personally identifiable information has been hidden unless the reviewer has requested their full name be included with the review. No unfavorable comments have been removed.

Report a concern   September 21, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by P.P.S. Sylvan of Amherst
What do you like about our services?

They are a great staff !!

Report a concern   August 29, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by N.N. Sylvan of Amherst
What do you like about our services?

I like the personal attention that my son receives from the Sylvan Staff. They care about their students and they have even attended IEP Meetings at my son's high school to help advocate for his educational needs. Not only my son's reading skills have improved since attending Sylvan Learning Center, but his self esteem and quality of life has improved, as well.

I have to single out Lydia who works at Sylvan because she personally has went above and beyond to help advocate for my son. She has been supportive, informative and caring with my son.

I am very grateful for the academic milestones that Sylvan Learning Center has helped my son to achieve. I would highly recommend them to anyone who wants additional help and advocacy for their child with their academics.

Report a concern   August 10, 2017 — Rated 5 out of 10 by S.C. Sylvan of Amherst
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

I am not disappointed. I am a 5, which is right in the middle, no opinion if you will. I would tell a friend that we use it, but would be unable to advocate one way or another based on the lack of knowledge I have about what is accomplished in each session.

My child doesn't fight attending, which is a good thing. But he is not one to articulate what he has learned. There are no progress reports or agendas sent home, so I don't have a clear idea about what is accomplished in two hour's time. I have faith that he has retained information. However, the school year has not started so I have no other measure to gauge his learning.

I think summer classes were beneficial in that he was kept in the vien of thinking about school and not "turning off" for the summer. These are the exact comments I would share with friends.

Report a concern   July 28, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by J.A.M.R. Sylvan of Amherst
What do you like about our services?

Staff is very friendly and knowledgeable.

Report a concern   July 17, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by R.D. Sylvan of Amherst
What do you like about our services?

We sent our son for math help to get thru finals.
He told us that he felt very welcomed and relaxed.It helped him concentrate on learning.

Report a concern   June 19, 2017 — Rated 8 out of 10 by E.U. Sylvan of Amherst
What could we do to improve?

Nothing much it's fine for what it is.

Report a concern   May 19, 2017 — Rated 6 out of 10 by S.M. Sylvan of Amherst
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

No follow up - I was the one always calling to het exam results and to schedule the services even though I was told I would be contacted. I also don't think the open table tutoring is beneficial. My son was distracted by other younger students that could not concentrate and made disturbances.

Report a concern   May 9, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by Arnold Stephenson Sylvan of Amherst
What do you like about our services?

It's a great way to get the help my son needs.

Report a concern   May 5, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by C.C. Sylvan of Amherst
What do you like about our services?

Approachable staff. Lydia and her staff are incredible.

Report a concern   May 4, 2017 — Rated 5 out of 10 by K.D. Sylvan of Amherst
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

One of the coordinator bassically said my child was not gifted amd talented

Report a concern   April 24, 2017 — Rated 0 out of 10 by R.B. Sylvan of Amherst
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

It's really expensive. I am friends with single moms not drs or lawyers
And they nor I can afford these prices just to get our children some extra help
I thinks it's ridiculously priced just to receive help. I tried to get my daughter
Involved at Sylvan but can not afford 568 per month for
60 hrs of instruction

Report a concern   April 10, 2017 — Rated 6 out of 10 by E.A. Sylvan of Amherst
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

It's too soon to tell if I will recommend this service to anyone

Report a concern   April 1, 2017 — Rated 8 out of 10 by S.M. Sylvan of Amherst
What could we do to improve?

More communication on the progress (if any) the tutors are seeing in your child. And the price for the service is a little steep so the service wouldn't be accessible to many families.

Report a concern   March 8, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by S.G. Sylvan of Amherst
What do you like about our services?

Dominic is not a motivated student but he complains very little about going to Sylvan so I'm assuming the learning environment there suits him.

Report a concern   March 1, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by F.A. Sylvan of Amherst
What do you like about our services?

the nice and kind staff at sylvan

Report a concern   December 13, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by S.D. Sylvan of Amherst
What do you like about our services?

You make learning fun. My son enjoys attending.

Report a concern   November 30, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by J.R. Sylvan of Amherst
What do you like about our services?

my son has just started and has already made progress in his reading.

Report a concern   November 27, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by J.H. Sylvan of Amherst
What do you like about our services?

I love that you have tailored a program for my daughter at her level....

Report a concern   November 15, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by Maureen And Dave Rusin Sylvan of Amherst
What do you like about our services?

Well for Kyla, she's very comfortable there, which in turn makes it easier for her to learn and understand. We are very pleased with her performance at school. We are also very happy with how accommodating you are. If Ky needs help, you are always able to provide it. Thank you

Report a concern   November 4, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by Dawn Brown Sylvan of Amherst
What do you like about our services?

Friendly, encouraging, work with economic struggles of family to assist student, thorough with communicating with schools.


Privacy Policy