Sylvan of Troy
3290 West Big Beaver
Troy
Michigan 48084
United States

Average rating: 9.2 out of 10 based on 182 ratings.

What our customers think of us!

The following comments were submitted by our customers when asked to provide feedback on our service. In the interest of transparency, we present these comments as provided except that personally identifiable information has been hidden unless the reviewer has requested their full name be included with the review. No unfavorable comments have been removed.

Report a concern   June 12, 2017 — Rated 5 out of 10 by R.L. Sylvan of Troy
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

I was so excited at the beginning to join sulivan but I found that a lot of time during the classes wasted kids get distracted by the noise made by having too many students at the same time.teachers as well as students at the same class are changeable,the teachers don't mind to waste 8 hrs explaining the same lesson.it is all iPad learning based no paper no books which I felt we are almost playing games.

Response from Sylvan of Troy:

We are so sorry to hear that your experience at Sylvan was not what you expected. It was great speaking with you and I appreciate you allowing me to address your concerns. As we discussed on the phone, reading and math lessons are delivered on the iPad, but all writing is done on paper, and we certainly integrate books and additional manipulatives when teaching the lessons. In addition, lessons are mastered following a very specific sequence; if a student knows a skill, they move through it quickly, if they need it taught, we spend the time needed to ensure a thorough understanding. The majority of our students do not have trouble focusing on the instructional floor, and instead, thrive in the 3:1 ratio. We do, however, have rooms off the main instructional floor, and we utilize these for instruction when appropriate. Our instructors are all certified teachers who are trained in table management; they do a wonderful job making sure that each child is on task and supported throughout the hour. We also have a teacher's assistant and a lead teacher/Director of Education on the floor each hour to provide support as needed.

Thank you again for sharing your concerns. Please don't hesitate to call us if there is anything we did not address. We look forward to working with you and your son in the future!

Report a concern   April 9, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by Laura Machlay Sylvan of Troy
What do you like about our services?

Personalized, caring, thorough!

Report a concern   March 8, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by I.J.S. Sylvan of Troy
What do you like about our services?

My children enjoy it. Also, I love the progress reports, monthly meetings and personal work plans. I love being very aware of their progress and the sense of accomplishment they feel from being at Sylvan.

Report a concern   March 6, 2017 — Rated 9 out of 10 by S.W. Sylvan of Troy
What do you like about our services?

Very organized. Staff is knowledgeable and kind.

Report a concern   December 13, 2016 — Rated 9 out of 10 by M.Q.W. Sylvan of Troy
What do you like about our services?

very good

Report a concern   November 27, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by C.B. Sylvan of Troy
What do you like about our services?

Daughter enjoys learning while earning tokens

Report a concern   October 22, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by Scott And Jill Howell Sylvan of Troy
What do you like about our services?

The experience you have in proven methods for teaching kids how to be better students.

Report a concern   August 5, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by Sanjay Gupta Sylvan of Troy
What do you like about our services?

Our Sylvan experience has been very positive, right from initial planning to actual class time. My son enjoyed the interaction with his teacher(s); they focused on areas that we had discussed and modified it during the course as they worked with my son. They were very adaptive and attentive to the needs for my son's learning success. As per my son, his teachers were very knowledgeable and senior teachers that knew what is expected for high school and SAT level work. I feel it was a wise investment and good use of summertime to positively re-enforce new and correct concepts through learning at Sylvan.

Report a concern   July 31, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by C.B. Sylvan of Troy
What do you like about our services?

I like how you have the resources and materials available for students and that it is aligned with the common core. The staff is friendly and very accommodating. The positive environment has had a huge impact on my son.

Report a concern   July 27, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by B.H. Sylvan of Troy
What do you like about our services?

The fact that my son seem very excited about learn which is something that has never happend before.

Report a concern   July 22, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by A.T. Sylvan of Troy
What do you like about our services?

Each student's program is different from all others because Sylvan created a program based on where a child is academically when they walk through the door. We have tried Others programs in our area however none of them took the time to see where there maybe holes in their skill set. sylvan does just that. It builds a strong foundation which in turn gives the child confidence as they continue to learn.
On the other end of it, our daughter is two grades ahead in reading. She said she wants to be three grades ahead in reading ...Sylvan can do that too!

Report a concern   July 18, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by Lauren Sharp Sylvan of Troy
What do you like about our services?

My child enjoys her sessions and is excited to attend.

Report a concern   July 18, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by K.F. Sylvan of Troy
What do you like about our services?

Very friendly and genuinely concerned about the success of my student.

Report a concern   June 25, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by M.A.R.B. Sylvan of Troy
What do you like about our services?

Sierra loves coming to Sylvan!!

Report a concern   June 8, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by Mark And Donnetta Bell Bryan Sylvan of Troy
What do you like about our services?

The care you take with the kids you tutor. My son feel comfortable with you. Can not wait to see the progress he makes.

Report a concern   May 23, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by P.A. Sylvan of Troy
What do you like about our services?

friendliness, a smile goes a long way. always have time to answer my questions.

Report a concern   May 21, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by L.M. Sylvan of Troy
What do you like about our services?

We are very happy with the progress our son has made. We feel the effort to work with Noah's school teachers went above and beyond what we or the teachers were expecting.

Report a concern   May 20, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by H.E. Sylvan of Troy
What do you like about our services?

The ability to explain a problem in a way that allows the child to feel good about himself

Report a concern   May 15, 2016 — Rated 7 out of 10 by P.P. Sylvan of Troy
What could we do to improve?

Because I look for support for my daughter to be prepared for the test that she will have in her school. The tutor teach algebra, but I think is not a support or guide for the test that she will have.

Report a concern   April 22, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by H.W. Sylvan of Troy
What do you like about our services?

Communication was the best and they cared very much about my children.


Privacy Policy