Yoder

Average rating: 8.9 out of 10 based on 214 ratings.

What our customers think of us!

The following comments were submitted by our customers when asked to provide feedback on our service. In the interest of transparency, we present these comments as provided except that personally identifiable information has been hidden unless the reviewer has requested their full name be included with the review. No unfavorable comments have been removed.

Report a concern   March 29, 2017 — Rated 5 out of 10 by P.W. Yoder
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

For the price of services no student should ever have to sit and wait for tutoring. It should be one on one attention. Students would accomplish more and make improvements faster. My daughter has been getting an E in math for a while, which was discussed and no one has spoken with her math teacher yet.

Report a concern   March 29, 2017 — Rated 9 out of 10 by M.A.K.M. Yoder
What do you like about our services?

Very professional and invested in supporting students and families.

Report a concern   March 25, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by C.M. Yoder
What do you like about our services?

Great employees and all the help they are giving my 10 year old and building his confidence up.

Report a concern   March 8, 2017 — Rated 8 out of 10 by L.S. Yoder
What could we do to improve?

Lower the cost... have more flexible program options.

Report a concern   March 2, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by J.A.V.L. Yoder
What do you like about our services?

Very friendly and great progress seen with our child! Fun learning environment!

Report a concern   January 19, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by Jodi Stopyak Yoder
What do you like about our services?

Sylvan makes learning fun! My son loves coming to Sylvan even after he's been at school all day. They really work at the child's pace and moved forward when the child is ready.

Report a concern   January 19, 2017 — Rated 8 out of 10 by S.A.M.G. Yoder
What could we do to improve?

Sometimes the communication lacks

Response from Sylvan of Midland:

At Sylvan, we feel communication is of the utmost importance, so we meet with each family on a monthly basis. We also welcome any suggestions, questions or concerns at any time in an effort to address any possible issues. We meet with classroom teachers to discuss our findings as well as any needs they feel the students might have that would be appropriate for our individualized attention. Tackling a child's educational needs should be a team effort.

Report a concern   December 19, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by Jamie And Lance Rynearson Yoder
What do you like about our services?

Our entire experience with Sylvan has been above and beyond expectations. From our first communication we have felt welcome and communication has been clear. Goals are realistic and our child is feeling accomplished! She enjoys all her mentors and is excited to go. We couldn't ask for a better environment!

Report a concern   December 15, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by S.P. Yoder
What do you like about our services?

Tailored to each child and progress reports. Online access

Report a concern   December 13, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by K.B. Yoder
What do you like about our services?

The director is very professional and informative. The scheduling is flexible and accommodating of our availability. Everyone who has worked with my son has been professional and dedicated to helping him to learn math.

Report a concern   December 7, 2016 — Rated 9 out of 10 by E.H. Yoder
What do you like about our services?

I like the availability

Report a concern   November 28, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by D.G. Yoder
What do you like about our services?

Easy scheduling and keeping my child motivated to learn

Report a concern   November 15, 2016 — Rated 6 out of 10 by P.A.C.G. Yoder
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

Stop pitching to sign up for more classes. At the parent teacher meetings, don't be in a rush to get the parent's signature on the performance review form. Take time to discuss the child's strengths and areas of improvement. I get the sense that the coordinator is trying to tick off the items in a check list. Also, be warm and friendly in your interactions.

Report a concern   October 27, 2016 — Rated 9 out of 10 by B.A.A.M. Yoder
What do you like about our services?

The people we have met at Sylvan are very knowledgeable about teaching and what seems to work best for our son. All the Sylvan employees that we have worked with are eager and happy to help in all matters.

Report a concern   October 26, 2016 — Rated 8 out of 10 by C.A.J.C. Yoder
What could we do to improve?

Sylvan needs to offer more discounts to their long-term customers. At ~$50/hour, it becomes very cost prohibitive to continue the service when your child is trying to meet 2 - 4 hours per week, e.g. $100-$200/week. Investing in a child's education is the best investment someone can make; however, it has to be reasonable. At $50/hour, it is more expensive than college credit hours.

Report a concern   October 15, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by Valerie Sulfaro Yoder
What do you like about our services?

I think Sylvan and its staff do an excellent job! Needs are personalized and I feel everyone truly cares about my daughter. Thank you!

Report a concern   September 1, 2016 — Rated 9 out of 10 by J.G. Yoder
What do you like about our services?

Professional and responsive to my son's needs; I think the whole staff has done an excellent job of helping my son navigate through a few areas of weakness

Report a concern   August 22, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by Sade Staffney Yoder
What do you like about our services?

Everything

Report a concern   August 18, 2016 — Rated 8 out of 10 by J.T. Yoder
What could we do to improve?

There were a few minor issue I had logging into the website and my step son had some issues too. Also, he missed two classes and the only option to make up the work was for his to do two 1 on 1 sessions at an additional cost. I think the 1 on 1 sessions should have been offered at a discounted cost (maybe 50%). Given that it's summer, you would expect that kids will miss some sessions.

Report a concern   August 16, 2016 — Rated 8 out of 10 by H.G. Yoder
What could we do to improve?

To increase the intensity of learning, to teach children advanced math and science to prepare them for the competitive tests.


Privacy Policy