Pillar to Post
87-153 Maipalaoa Road
Waianae
Hawaii 96792
United States

Average rating: 9.2 out of 10 based on 31 ratings.

What our customers think of us!

The following comments were submitted by our customers when asked to provide feedback on our service. In the interest of transparency, we present these comments as provided except that personally identifiable information has been hidden unless the reviewer has requested their full name be included with the review. No unfavorable comments have been removed.

Report a concern   November 24, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by W.J.D. Pillar to Post
What do you like about our services?

Our inspector was courteous and meticulous in the Inspection of our home. The items and the detailed results allowed us to make effective decisions on the decrepencies that were discovered.

Report a concern   November 24, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by J.B. Pillar to Post
What do you like about our services?

Everything, very knowledgable and fast.

Report a concern   November 19, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by E.A.S.W. Pillar to Post
What do you like about our services?

Excellent service by Nathan! He's attentive to details and he explains well. Pillar to post is very considerate of home owners, they provided us with a folder containing the information about home ownership, along with envelopes to keep all the receipts, and notes of improvements, going forward. We're first time home buyer, and his service makes us very comfortable moving forward in the home buying stage.

Report a concern   November 1, 2016 — Rated 5 out of 10 by A.S.K. Pillar to Post
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

We'd like to change the score to 10, but it locked.

Report a concern   October 29, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by M.M.M.G. Pillar to Post
What do you like about our services?

Nathan was very thorough, knowledgeable, professional and friendly. He also provided us with a binder to help keep track of the existing condo, any changes, and future plans. The service was worth every penny.

Report a concern   October 18, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by C.S. Pillar to Post
What do you like about our services?

The home inspection provided was very thorough and Nathan was very professional and willing to answer any questions throughout the entire process.

Report a concern   October 18, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by L.L.J. Pillar to Post
What do you like about our services?

Nathan was very professional and took his time to inspect our future home. He took us through the house and showed us what he inspected and the outcome of the findings, concerns and any issues needing attention before purchasing the house.

Report a concern   October 16, 2016 — Rated 0 out of 10 by N.A.P.A. Pillar to Post
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

I USED THIS COMPANY BECAUSE MY REALTOR SAID HE WAS GIVEN A COUPON TO USE THAT WOULD BE NO COST TO ME AND IF I LIKED THIS COMPANY HE WOULD REFER THIS COMPANY TO HIS CLIENTS AS WELL.

THE INSPECTOR DIDN'T EVEN CHECK THE HOT WATER IT WAS OFF THE WHOLE TIME, SO NOT TILL I MOVED IN WHEN I USED THE HOT WATER DID I DISCOVER A LEAK ON BOTH SIDES OF THE HOT WATER HEATER PIPES AT THE TOP. I HAD TO CALL A PLUMBER THAT COST ME 400.00 AND HE HAD TO MAKE A HUGE HOLE IN THE WALL. ALSO WE FOUND OUT THAT BOTH TUBS WERE BACKED UP AND THE SINK UPSTAIRS DIDNT WORK PROPERLY. AND THE CABNINETS WERE PEELING PAINT. AND THERE WAS SOME WATER DAMAGE TO THE KITCHEN FLOOR AREA. I FEEL I SHOULDN'T HAVE TO PAY FOR THE HOT WEATER BILL TO ROTOR ROOTER SINCE THE INSPECTOR SHOULD HAVE CAUGHT THIS. I FEEL I SHOULD GET REIMBURSED OR I WILL TELL MY REALTOR NOT TO USE THIS COMPANY AND TO PUT THE WORD OUT TO OTHER REALTOR COMPANIES.
Phone number removed

Response from Pillar to Post:

Thank you for taking the time to address your concerns. Enjoy your new home!

Report a concern   October 14, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by J.A.A.D. Pillar to Post
What do you like about our services?

I love how thorough the inspector is. The binder with all the necessary information (pictures and added illustrations) is a very nice touch!

Report a concern   October 7, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by N.A.B. Pillar to Post
What do you like about our services?

Very professional and thorough inspection. The home inspection report binder was an added bonus!

Report a concern   September 23, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by C.A.S.O. Pillar to Post
What do you like about our services?

Nathan was thorough and honest!

Report a concern   September 12, 2016 — Rated 0 out of 10 by S.A.J.G. Pillar to Post
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

Dear Pillar and Post,
I am sorry to report that we were not fully satisfied with our home inspection that was conducted at 98-931 B Noelani Street #85 Pearl City, HI 96782 by Nathan Baker. I personally was unable to attend the inspection and did not return until shortly before the J1 period ended however, my wife was in attendance. The inspection report was presented nicely but after reading through it I found many items that were not satisfactory. When I returned home I did my own inspection and these are discrepancies found which I feel should have been reported.

List of home deficiencies reported to be in working order:
• 3 windows are not functioning properly. The report states that not all windows were tested but yet my wife stated that the inspector said that all windows worked properly.
o Living room window next to AC does not close all the way and the handle to close the window is not attached to the jalousies.
o Both upstairs windows with AC units installed have the levers removed to make way for the AC. In order to close the window, you would have to remove the screen with a screw driver, manually close the windows and then re-attach the screen. This was never mentioned to us. This fact should represent that the window does not function properly.
• The kitchen sink had a substantial leak on left side. This was discovered by partially filling the sink with water using a stopper and placing paper underneath the sink to monitor for leaks.
• The water heater age was estimated to be 2004 on the report but it clearly states on yellow sticker on the heater that it was manufactured on 07/07.

The following items were not found on the report or are in question as to why they were not tested:
• The doorbell does not work.
• All electrical sockets were not tested.
• The laundry room light does not work. Is it not standard to test with a meter to determine if it was a current or just a burnt out bulb?
• The downstairs half-bath toilet makes a high-pitched noise when flushed and must have a part replaced.
• Hot Water:
o When I tested the hot water we noticed a very strong moldy smell. The water heater was not able to heat water during the inspection but running the water for a while would have pushed the old unheated water through the system and the inspector would have smelled this. After consultation with another professional we learned that the west side of Oahu has hard water, which deteriorates the anode rod in the hot water heater, thus producing a noxious smell. Either way the faucets were not run a substantial amount of time to determine if a fault. I also believe that a home inspector should have the knowledge of how to operate a hotwater on a timer (which the report states he did not know how).
• The attic or crawl space under the house was not involved in the inspection; it was tight, but I crawled through both areas and found things in the attic which were reported to not be there.
• Attic:
o There is a bird’s nest in far right eave facing the driveway. It was stated that there were no animals were in the attic during the inspection summary.
o It was stated during the inspection summary that the attic is open to the neighbors and we should put a latch on our access door in the master bedroom to prevent someone from crawling through and into the home. There is not access to neighbors in attic, they have built up the wall on both sides. A critter could climb through but it is not even big enough for an infant.
• It was stated during the summary that the washing machine and dryer were put through a full operating cycle but the report states that they were not tested.

Nathan did a good job in recognizing that there are not any major issues pending with the house, barring the water heater. However, due to my own findings, the inspection report is disconcerting because many items were found to be inoperable, broken or reported wrong. We spent money on the inspection in hopes of getting the piece of mind and satisfaction in knowing that we are purchasing a home that is in good standing no matter how small the problem. I will be happy to provide pictures of any of the above statements to prove my point (i.e. birds nest, enclosed attic, leak, date on water heater, etc.). Feel free to contact me as well if you have further questions or comments.

Regards,

Justin & Name removed Last name removed
(205) 335 – 0605

Response from Pillar to Post:

I spoke with the client on the concerns and the issues were resolved.

Report a concern   September 10, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by Matt Suanders Pillar to Post
What do you like about our services?

Nathan was extremely professional and very thorough. I was able to complete the home inspection with all my questions answered in a reasonable time frame due to his diligence and preparation prior to my arrival. I will recommend Pillar To Post and their services to anyone who needs a cost-efficient and reliable home inspection. The interpersonal skills and the honesty of their employees makes them a distinguishable business amongst their competitors; their services cannot be substituted by the exorbitant prices for unnecessary packages I was offered by other businesses when shopping for home inspection. Pillar To Post was a very positive experience which alleviated the stress of buying a home for my family. Thank you for your exceptional service, I will remain a loyal customer indefinitely.

Report a concern   September 6, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by James Rex Cleaver Pillar to Post
What do you like about our services?

Availability, and Nathan was very informative and pleasant.

Report a concern   August 30, 2016 — Rated 9 out of 10 by N.C. Pillar to Post
What do you like about our services?

Friendly, organized, and very informative!

Report a concern   August 26, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by Kimberly Sakstrup Pillar to Post
What do you like about our services?

Very thorough, knowledgeable, and experienced with the home inspection and educated me on the things that needed to be addressed.

Report a concern   August 22, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by J.A.M.M. Pillar to Post
What do you like about our services?

Very thorough and took the time to answer any questions.

Report a concern   August 21, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by D.A.D.L. Pillar to Post
What do you like about our services?

competent, polite, professional, thorough.

Report a concern   August 19, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by B.A.G. Pillar to Post
What do you like about our services?

Nathan Meyer as very good at explaining everything to us and service was fast.

Report a concern   August 19, 2016 — Rated 10 out of 10 by M.N. Pillar to Post
What do you like about our services?

Not only was the appraisal last minute before my travels, it was done in a manner that exceeded my expectations for thoroughness and professionalism. Tremendous job and could not thank Nathan enough for meeting my time constraints.


Privacy Policy