Pillar To Post
103-3677 Hwy 97N
Kelowna
BC V1X5C3
Canada

Average rating: 9.4 out of 10 based on 821 ratings.

What our customers think of us!

The following comments were submitted by our customers when asked to provide feedback on our service. In the interest of transparency, we present these comments as provided except that personally identifiable information has been hidden unless the reviewer has requested their full name be included with the review. No unfavorable comments have been removed.

Report a concern   May 26, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by C.S. Pillar To Post
What do you like about our services?

David was very thorough and explained everything in very simple and easy to understand terms. I learned a lot about how to properly maintain the home from him and he gave me some great tips on things to watch for.

Report a concern   May 26, 2017 — Rated 8 out of 10 by D.B.B. Pillar To Post
What could we do to improve?

Good job! I did think the inspection would be a little more thorough for the price but I did have the option to order more. When I did my walk through I did see the same as reported. I didn't check wall insulation or vapour barrier, cork floors, etc but I will see it next time I'm in Kelowna.
Thanks for very quick service. Binder was rec'd today...,.nice quality.

Report a concern   May 26, 2017 — Rated 9 out of 10 by J.M.L. Pillar To Post
What do you like about our services?

It was thorough and informative. Inspector was very friendly and knowledgeable.

Report a concern   May 19, 2017 — Rated 9 out of 10 by K.M. Pillar To Post
What do you like about our services?

John was great. Was patient and detailed.

Report a concern   May 19, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by D.T. Pillar To Post
What do you like about our services?

David was awesome. Very patient and professional. He took time to explain everything.

Report a concern   May 16, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by W.C. Pillar To Post
What do you like about our services?

Very professional and thorough. Report was very detailed and summarized at the end for east reference.

Report a concern   May 12, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by L.N. Pillar To Post
What do you like about our services?

Very professional and knowledgable Inspector..

Report a concern   May 12, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by H.J.V. Pillar To Post
What do you like about our services?

The surveyor was very precise and informative.

Report a concern   May 9, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by A.B. Pillar To Post
What do you like about our services?

Very friendly Inspector. Explained to me where everything was located and turned in a great report.

Report a concern   May 9, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by J.D.G. Pillar To Post
What do you like about our services?

A very thorough inspection of the home that we were hoping to buy plus good guidance on maintaining it into the future.

Report a concern   May 6, 2017 — Rated 5 out of 10 by N.W. Pillar To Post
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

We previously used pillar to post for a home purchase and were very impressed with the service/quality. We definitely would have rated a 10/10 at that time. Unfortunately, we didn't have as good of an experience this time around.

Our main concern is regarding the verbal feedback that was provided at the time of the inspection. A number of things that were inferred during the inspection, had no objective evidence, but left all those in attendance at the inspection very concerned about going forward with the home purchase. The feedback we received about the home was so dismal that prior to backing out, we brought a second party out and had a second opinion 24 hours later. At that time, most of the "potential concerns" brought up by the pillar to post inspector were actually inspected and confirmed to not be an issue.

For example, the pillar to post inspector advised that there was no GFI breaker for the hot tub and played out all sorts of possible scenarios including people being possibly electrocuted while in the hot tub!? Within minutes of secondary inspection, this was found not to be the case and the hot tub is correctly wired with appropriate breaker etc.

Multiple "potential" roof issues he identified (potential water damage or hundreds of bats...) were in fact not an issue. After the inspection, the owner's did go ahead and replace the shingles on the roof, and none of the "potential issues" we identified at that time. Even at the time of the inspection, there was no evidence of any water damage on the any of the inside roof (so I'm not entirely sure why that was played out as being a real possibility), but the comment from the inspector was that they could have just painted the ceiling, so there would be no way to know. Again, why bring up the possibility of significant water damage, with absolutely no proof??

The electrical panel box was in the wrong location, and the inspector offered an approximate quote of $5Phone number removed to fix the issue. The issue was fixed by an electrician for $1200. While I completely appreciate the inspector is not a licensed electrician, and we cannot hold him responsible for providing vastly incorrect quotes, I would suggest, that in the future, quotes should not be offered when the margin for error in in the thousands of dollars.

We were told during the pillar to post inspection that there was no way of knowing what the foundation was. In two minutes with a secondary inspection we had a clear answer.

An easily assessable crawl space (the secondary inspector is over 6 feet tall and could enter it to inspect) was just not inspected during the pillar to post inspection and the comment was "unable to gain full access to crawl space".

In short, our main concern was that so much "potential" negative conjecture was offered during the inspection despite having no evidence to support the suggestions. I appreciate the inspector wanted us to be aware of "worst case scenerios", but I would humbly suggest that unless there is real evidence to suggest an issue, conjecture should not be offered during an inspection. Upon completion of this inspection, those involved (three people present) all felt like given the feedback, this home was not worth the purchasing. 24 hours later with a second opinion, almost all of the negative feedback was properly investigated, and found not to be as big of an issue (or no issue at all), and we did proceed to purchase the home.

Unfortunately, most of these examples listed are not conveyed in the written report, as none of them had evidential proof to document; that being said, and as I have said all throughout this, three people were present during the inspection, and based on the verbal conjectures offered, a very negative picture was painted.

Going forward, I would consider using Pillar to Post for another home inspection as previously we were very happy, and have also recommended pillar and post to family member's who also have had positive experiences. However, I would not recommend nor use this inspector again.

Overall we were quiet dissatisfied to have paid almost $600 for an inspection, which we had to repeat 24 hours later with vastly different outcome. We would appreciate your consideration regarding a partial or complete refund given our experience.

Report a concern   May 5, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by A.S. Pillar To Post
What do you like about our services?

Very thorough and explained really well, any of the issues we need to deal with on our new home.

Excellent service!

Report a concern   May 5, 2017 — Rated 9 out of 10 by R.R. Pillar To Post
What do you like about our services?

Prompt and professional..

Report a concern   May 5, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by J.M.T.S. Pillar To Post
What do you like about our services?

Very thorough and I like the binder report that is provided. Also, very helpful and friendly.

Report a concern   May 5, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by G.S. Pillar To Post
What do you like about our services?

Very professional. Everything from making appointment to actual inspection went smoothly.
Being able to ask inspector questions on site was very helpful.

Report a concern   May 3, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by R.B. Pillar To Post
What do you like about our services?

timely, responsive, and super helpful. Thanks very much

Report a concern   April 28, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by C.J. Pillar To Post
What do you like about our services?

John was great

Report a concern   April 26, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by C.J. Pillar To Post
What do you like about our services?

I am so grateful to John at Pillar to Post for finding the dampness problem in the home. It was not immediately apparent and he just saved us a huge headache. The inspection was money well spent.

Report a concern   April 26, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by V.O.B. Pillar To Post
What do you like about our services?

Prompt, professional, immediate results, review with homeowner is very helpful.

Report a concern   April 26, 2017 — Rated 0 out of 10 by A.T. Pillar To Post
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

Examiner showed up more than 1 hour late and he refused to do the examination. He suggested to do the examination "after" I take possession of the residence. That make NO SENSE to me.


Privacy Policy