Pyle Swimming Pool
Marshfield Avenue
Pyle
WALES CF33 6RP
United Kingdom

Average rating: 7.2 out of 10 based on 311 ratings.

What our customers think of us!

The following comments were submitted by our customers when asked to provide feedback on our service. In the interest of transparency, we present these comments as provided except that personally identifiable information has been hidden unless the reviewer has requested their full name be included with the review. No unfavorable comments have been removed.

Report a concern   December 6, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by G.W.H. Pyle Swimming Pool
What do you like about our services?

Loved using the new gym, the equipment is very easy to use.

Report a concern   December 6, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by B.M. Pyle Swimming Pool
What do you like about our services?

I'm so glad to see all the new gym equipment ready entry installed

Response from Pyle Swimming Pool:

Thank you for your great feedback. We are extremely pleased to see that you are enjoying our new gym equipment.

Your feedback is very important to us so please do not hesitate to contact us with any further information about your visit.

Kind regards,

Katrina

Report a concern   December 2, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by P.E. Pyle Swimming Pool
What do you like about our services?

Gym is looking very nice

Report a concern   November 22, 2017 — Rated 8 out of 10 by P.B. Pyle Swimming Pool
What could we do to improve?

Keep timetables up to date on the website. I have turned up for a session in the pool and it has not been on even though the website has said so. This is the third time this has happened.

Response from Pyle Swimming Pool:

Thank you for your feedback, I will ensure that your comment is passed on and recorded and that timetabling is monitored thoroughly. We apologise for any inconvenience that has been caused.

If you have any further comments please do not hesitate in contacting us directly.

Report a concern   November 22, 2017 — Rated 6 out of 10 by J.C. Pyle Swimming Pool
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

Shower and toilet facailities to be improved. Also the gym . Xxx

Response from Pyle Swimming Pool:

We are pleased to tell you we are due to close our gym next Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday due to refurbishment taking place with all new equipment and decorating.

We have regular cleaning checks carried out throughout our working day and aim to act on anything not up to standard immediately. If you see anything which is not up to standard please make a member of staff aware and we can solve the issue straight away.

If you have any comments or concerns you would like to share with us in the future please do not hesitate to let us know.

Report a concern   November 22, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by A.L. Pyle Swimming Pool
What do you like about our services?

Friendly staff and good facilities.

Response from Pyle Swimming Pool:

Thank you for your recent feedback regarding our centre, feedback is very important to us and we are always looking for ways to improve our services to our customers. I will ensure your comments are past on to all the team and hope your future visits are enjoyable as they are now.

Report a concern   November 21, 2017 — Rated 5 out of 10 by I.S. Pyle Swimming Pool
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

The changing rooms could do with up dating and new curtains. The heat in side the changing area and upstairs in the waiting area needs to be ajusted as it is way to hot.

Report a concern   November 21, 2017 — Rated 0 out of 10 by C.E.L. Pyle Swimming Pool
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

Showers & changing area need
pool turbidity not clear

Response from Pyle Swimming Pool:

We are sorry to see that your visit did not meet the high expectations that we aim for.

Your comments have been passed on and logged. I am sure that you will be glad to hear that we are planning to freshen up our changing rooms in the new year which we hope will improve your future visits to our centre.

If you have any further information about your visit please don't hesitate to contact us directly.

Report a concern   November 21, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by S.J. Pyle Swimming Pool
What do you like about our services?

always friendly helpful staff.
very welcoming environment.

Response from Pyle Swimming Pool:

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our staff and environment at Pyle Swimming Pool. We are pleased to see that you had a good experience here and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Please do not hesitate in contacting us directly with any further information regarding your visit.

Report a concern   November 17, 2017 — Rated 6 out of 10 by P.H. Pyle Swimming Pool
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

The changing rooms are scruffy and could do with a clean. The male showers are strange, the you can't stand under the 4th shower. The water from the showers drains into the toilet area. Why bother with the coloured bands for the steam and Jacuzzi area. The steam room isn't turned on early enough in the mornings so often smells of mould and is too cold to be of any use.

The building doesn't look cared for.

I would like the pool to open at 6.30 or 7am. There is almost always a queue of people waiting to get in at 7.15 and 7.30am.

It is not expensive and the staff are generally happy and cheerful.

Response from Pyle Swimming Pool:

I would like to thank you for your recent comments, feedback is very important to us as we are always looking at ways to improve our services to our customers.

I am sorry you felt our facilities were not up to the expected standards and we take all comments on board to improve customer satisfaction. I will look into all areas of your concerns regarding the cleanliness of the centre.

We currently open our facilities at the earliest we can at the moment as we have club hire using the centre prior to our public swimming sessions on certain days.

Hopefully with a positive start in improving our centre with the gym refurbishment commencing on 27th November will improve the appearance in this area and we can look at the rest of our facilities.

I will make all staff aware of your concerns and comments if you have any other comments please let us know so we are able to improve our service.

Report a concern   November 10, 2017 — Rated 0 out of 10 by J.H. Pyle Swimming Pool
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

No the whole place was in a poor state and the water was cold but i realize money cut backs with this government has applied.

Response from Pyle Swimming Pool:

We are sorry to see that you feel our centre didn't meet the high standards that we aim for here at Pyle Swimming Pool.

With regards to the water temperature, it is regulated at a temperature which has been deemed suitable for all water users. However, I will ensure that your comment is passed on and recorded.

Report a concern   November 9, 2017 — Rated 7 out of 10 by C.J. Pyle Swimming Pool
What could we do to improve?

Less children in a class and the instructors be more strict with the children who mess around. There are lots of rough boys in the same class as my young daughter. I'm usually on pins watching.
My older daughter is in a class with an instructor who is lazy. He spends more time walking around than teaching. Often in a 30 min lesson they swim 4 lengths as they are waiting for him to give instruction. I have complained on numerous occasions and nothing is ever done. However in previous classes both girls have had nice learners and assertive instructors,

Response from Pyle Swimming Pool:

Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your concerns of your children's swimming lessons. I am sorry you feel the delivery of our lessons is not up to your standards. The capacity of our classes are run at the expected ratios. I can monitor the class over the next couple of weeks and act on the behaviour of the children in the class.

Please can you supply me with more information regarding your older daughter's lessons so I will be able to observe the lesson and speak to the instructor your comments relate to.

I would like to thank you again for your comments as we are always looking for ways to improve our services to our customers.

Report a concern   November 9, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by G.R. Pyle Swimming Pool
What do you like about our services?

That pool and changing facilities are exactly as I remember them as a child 😊

Response from Pyle Swimming Pool:

We are pleased to see you enjoyed your feedback to Pyle Swimming Pool and that it brought back some great memories for you.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report a concern   November 7, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by V.T. Pyle Swimming Pool
What do you like about our services?

Very friendly staff

Response from Pyle Swimming Pool:

Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to Pyle Swimming Pool.

Please do not hesitate in contacting us directly if you have any further information regarding your visit as your feedback is very important to us.

Report a concern   November 7, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by C.B. Pyle Swimming Pool
What do you like about our services?

Friendly staff
Well organised

Response from Pyle Swimming Pool:

Thank you for your great feedback regarding your visit to Pyle Swimming Pool.

If you have any further information regarding your visit then please do not hesitate in contacting us directly as your feedback is very important to us.

Report a concern   November 7, 2017 — Rated 0 out of 10 by P.J. Pyle Swimming Pool
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

Receptionist refused my 13 and 14 year old girls entrance it to the gym as they didn't have their cards with them. They have been members for 2 months. I had driven off and they had to run out and flag me down. If we had known, they couldn't go in without it, they would have had it. She made no apology when I explained but robotically repeated the rules. I was forced to drive 3 miles away to get the cards whilst my girls were waiting. Absolutely ridiculous. Discretion should have been used, especially when children were involved. She was more interested in chatting to a male colleague and enjoying what little power she had over my girls and myself. When the girls eventually went the gym, they said that the smell of pungent body odour was disgusting. There should be some ventilation and hygienic wipes available. Perhaps the manager could ensure that there are hourly hygiene checks? However, there is a male member of staff who also has body odour issues. Perhaps he can't smell it?

Report a concern   November 4, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by L.R. Pyle Swimming Pool
What do you like about our services?

Friendly helpful staff

Response from Pyle Swimming Pool:

Thank you for your feedback and your lovely comments about our staff here at Pyle Swimming Pool. We are pleased you have had a good experience here and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Your feedback is very important to us, please do not hesitate in contacting us directly with any further information about your visit.

Report a concern   November 3, 2017 — Rated 2 out of 10 by L.E. Pyle Swimming Pool
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

Cleanliness needs to be a priority.

Response from Pyle Swimming Pool:

Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to Pyle Swimming Pool. We are sorry to see that you feel our cleanliness does not meet the high standards that we aim for, your comment has been passed on and logged, and we will try our best to maintain these standards to improve your experience here.

Your feedback is very important to us, so please do not hesitate in contacting us directly with further information regarding your visit.

Report a concern   November 1, 2017 — Rated 9 out of 10 by S.O. Pyle Swimming Pool
What do you like about our services?

Ease of parking
Warm lovely swimming pool
Plenty of lockers and changing area
Excellent hot showers
Friendly welcoming staff / lifeguards
Realised today they do Aqua aerobics classes so I wlll be adding this to my activities soon

Response from Pyle Swimming Pool:

Thank you for your great feedback. I will ensure that your comments are passed on to all staff members. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time at our centre and that you have found a new activity to add to your list!

If you have any further information about your visit please do not hesitate to contact us directly. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report a concern   October 27, 2017 — Rated 9 out of 10 by L.T. Pyle Swimming Pool
What do you like about our services?

Beginners adult swimming instructor is great!

Response from Pyle Swimming Pool:

Thank you for your great feedback! I will ensure that your comment is passed onto our instructor. We look forward to seeing you again soon.


Privacy Policy