Pyle Swimming Pool
Marshfield Avenue
Pyle
WALES CF33 6RP
United Kingdom

Average rating: 7.1 out of 10 based on 298 ratings.

What our customers think of us!

The following comments were submitted by our customers when asked to provide feedback on our service. In the interest of transparency, we present these comments as provided except that personally identifiable information has been hidden unless the reviewer has requested their full name be included with the review. No unfavorable comments have been removed.

Report a concern   October 17, 2017 — Rated 2 out of 10 by M.M.M. Pyle Swimming Pool
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

I am so sorry to tell you this , My name is Mariyamma, my two kids are learning swimming last few weeks in Pyle swimming pool on Saturdays 12.15 for 30 minutes. There was 6 kids on class. I was very happy for their lessons until 23rd September. (started 15/7/17 )
But I am worried now, as last three weeks kids number in Duckling 1 and 2 section was 8. For security reasons in don't think so its an acceptable number. The instructor mentioned it few times in reception still number is same. We can see Instructor was struggling to cope, last Saturday few of the kids drunk water . It wasn't happening until 3 weeks ago. First week i thought its a mistake the number of the kids, now last 3 weeks same thing happening . That's what i thought i need your attention on this case as kids are too small and they need more attention .I hope you will do they needful,
Yours, faithfully,
MARIYAMMA Last name removed.

Report a concern   October 16, 2017 — Rated 6 out of 10 by A.M. Pyle Swimming Pool
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

I wasn't disappointed as it was what i expected. The staff were lovely, but lets face it - the pool is quite old now and changing rooms are a bit shabby.

Response from Pyle Swimming Pool:

Thank you for your feedback, we are very pleased that you had a positive experience with our staff at Pyle Swimming Pool.

We are sorry that you feel our facilities do not meet the high standards that we aim for. We are planning to freshen up our changing rooms in the new year, so we hope this will improve your future experiences with us.

If you have any further comments, please do not hesitate in contacting us directly.

Report a concern   October 13, 2017 — Rated 5 out of 10 by R.A. Pyle Swimming Pool
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

keep your word and refurbish the gym

Response from Pyle Swimming Pool:

Thank you for your feedback, it is extremely important to us as we are always looking at ways to improve our services and facilities.

I can confirm that we are having a refurbishment in our gym in the end of November which will consist of new equipment, redecoration and a new music system which we hope will make your visits to our centre more enjoyable.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly with any further information regarding your visit.

Report a concern   October 12, 2017 — Rated 7 out of 10 by M.T. Pyle Swimming Pool
What could we do to improve?

Repair the items in gym that are not working properly,ie the bike and the rowing machine

Response from Pyle Swimming Pool:

Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to Pyle Swimming Pool, I will ensure your comment is passed on and recorded and hope that these pieces of equipment will be repaired as soon as possible for your use.

We are excited to be having new equipment for our gym in November and hope you will be able to enjoy using this.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly with any further information about your visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report a concern   October 12, 2017 — Rated 7 out of 10 by M.C. Pyle Swimming Pool
What could we do to improve?

More adult only sessions teatime/ early evenings for non lane swimmers

Response from Pyle Swimming Pool:

Thank you for your feedback and for your suggestion, I will ensure it is passed on. We hope you enjoyed your visit to our centre and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report a concern   October 6, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by C.S. Pyle Swimming Pool
What do you like about our services?

Helpful friendly staff

Response from Pyle Swimming Pool:

I would like to thank you for your online comments. Feedback is very important to us and we are always looking for ways to improve the services to our customers.

I will ensure your comment is passed onto all the staff at the centre.

Report a concern   October 5, 2017 — Rated 4 out of 10 by M.J. Pyle Swimming Pool
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

Many of the gym machines not working.

Response from Pyle Swimming Pool:

I would like to thank you for your online comments on our centre. Feedback is very important to us as we always try to improve the services to our customers. I am sorry to hear your visit was not up to your expected standards.

I can assure you we are having a refurbishment in our gym at the end of November which will consist of re decoration, new equipment and new music system.

Hopefully this will make your visits much more enjoyable.

Report a concern   October 5, 2017 — Rated 0 out of 10 by K.L. Pyle Swimming Pool
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

I have been a member of Pyle pool for several years and unfortunately this is not the first complaint I have made. But I have never had a reply.

I work full time , I have tried swimming during the early birds session, but this time slot which is designed for serious swimmers like myself, is full of people chatting and lane hogging.

Last week I had a midweek day off, checked the website and decided to attend a public swimming session, when I arrived I was told the pool was closed for cleaning, The receptionist checked the website and confirmed it did say open for public swimming.

Yesterday 4/10 again I went to a public swimming session, there were two lanes shut off for lane swimmers but was very busy with eight people swimming lengths. The public side was also busy but I managed to swim lengths next to the lane swimmers. I was then joined by two other women who joined me in swimming lengths at an average speed with no stopping for chatting. After about forty lengths we were moved so the lifeguard could add in an extra lane, we thought it was for us. But to my amazement it was a private swimming lesson for 1 child. My self and the other ladies were forced to abandon our swim as there was no room for us to swim lengths safely without colliding with other swimmers.

I asked to speak to the manager but instead spoke to a lifeguard who told me this happens frequently as these people pay a premium for the swimming lesson. This is in my opinion is totally unacceptable, I pay my membership, and feel I am entitled to receive the service I subscribe to.

The pool at Pyle is profiteering from the public session, making money from a session which is designated to the public, who pay their fees.

I would like to see this practice stopped, I have every intention of speaking to my MP, as a company I suspect you put in a tender for the rights to Pyle pool and if the council were aware of this practice I feel they would view it with distain.

I would also like the early bird session be monitored and as you will see it is not solely attended by serious swimmers, and people like myself are left disadvantaged

Response from Pyle Swimming Pool:

I would like to thank you for your online concerns, feedback is very important to us as we look at ways to improve our services to our customers. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your visit during our public swimming time.

We aim to provide a service for all swimming abilities and offer different sessions to meet customers needs and expectations.

During our afternoon public swimming sessions a lane is provided for our one to one swimming lessons to ensure the instructors can carry provide a safe environment for the children and deliver a lesson at a high standard. Part of the pool in laned off for anyone wishing to swim lengths and I understand that sometimes this can become quite busy. The rest of the pool is open for public and families.

During our earlybirds and lunchtime swimming sessions guidance boards are in place to ensure customers safety on direction of swimming in the chosen lane. The slow, medium and fast is a general understanding of their own personal ability.

We offer lane swimming on Wednesday 8pm - 9pm and Thursday 7pm - 8pm, during these sessions all the lane ropes are in the pool offering 6 lanes to the public. We also offer a fitswim group exercise class on a Tuesday evening 8.30pm-9.30pm where instructors are available for fitness sessions etc. All three of these sessions are aimed at more serious swimmers if this is something you would be interested in and possibly could attend during your working hours.

Report a concern   October 4, 2017 — Rated 1 out of 10 by L.T. Pyle Swimming Pool
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

It really needs a make over its very dated the toilets were very smelly, roof tiles damaged in the juccuzzi area, lots of lockers out of order, shower curtains on changing cubicles are no good as don't give you any privacy and they are too small, the pool and changing rooms are very tired and in desperate need of up dating. The staff are lovely tho and the gym looks small but good - using that for the first time next week.

Response from Pyle Swimming Pool:

Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to Pyle Swimming Pool. We are sorry that your recent experience wasn't a positive one but we are very grateful for your feedback as it helps us to improve our centre and services.

I am sure that you will be glad to hear that we are planning on upgrading our changing rooms in the new year which will include new, working lockers that will accommodate the new one pound coins and changing cubicles with more privacy.

Your comments about the Jacuzzi have been reported and passed onto relevant staff. Please inform a member of staff in the future so that they can maintain the high standards that we aim for by dealing with cleanliness issues immediately.

We are pleased to see that you find that our staff are friendly, it is always nice to hear and this will be passed back to the team. We hope that you enjoy your first experience at our gym.

If you have any further comments or queries please do not hesitate to contact us where a member of staff will always be happy to help.

Report a concern   October 3, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by A.B. Pyle Swimming Pool
What do you like about our services?

Clean, organised and on time.

Response from Pyle Swimming Pool:

Thank you for your positive comments. Feedback is very important to us to help us improve the services we provide to our customers.

Report a concern   September 27, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by A.K. Pyle Swimming Pool
What do you like about our services?

Friendly staff. Good facilities.

Response from Pyle Swimming Pool:

Thank you for your recent feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your time at our Center and found our staff to be friendly.

We look forward to your next visit!

Report a concern   September 26, 2017 — Rated 2 out of 10 by M.T.F. Pyle Swimming Pool
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

Staff should know what facilities are there. I rang prior and asked if the sauna was open, was told yes got there to find out there is no sauna. Quite outdated.

Response from Pyle Swimming Pool:

I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to Pyle Swimming Pool. We are always looking at ways to improve our services and we take every comment on board to make sure that we achieve this.

I am sorry that you told incorrect information about our facilities. Your comment has been passed on to all staff members to ensure that this will not happen again.

I'm sure you will be glad to know that we are having a refurbishment in our gym in November which will include brand new gym equipment. We are also planning to freshen up our locker rooms in the new year.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly with any further comments.

Report a concern   September 22, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by S.W. Pyle Swimming Pool
What do you like about our services?

Free for over 60's, spa, nice hot showers

Response from Pyle Swimming Pool:

I am glad to see you have taken up the free membership for over 60's, and our facilities are at the standard expected.

If you have any concerns or comments you would like to share in the future please let a member of staff know where we will be happy to help.

Report a concern   September 21, 2017 — Rated 2 out of 10 by N.B. Pyle Swimming Pool
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

My son has now been attending the same swimming lessons for nearly a year. He has had nearly 6 different instructors which is causing inconsistencies with his learning and swimming development. I have asked for feedback form which informed me that he needed two last floating activities to complete. I've brought him again today to yet another instructor who then said that no he needs to complete other things to pass the class which proves to me that the feedback form was fraudulently filled in by instructors who obviously have no clue about the child. He has been juggled from person to person and is quite distressed today as he has got it in his mind that he has been told to get out of the pool but I think asked to sit on the side by yet another halo member of staff. He now doesn't want to attend any other lessons. I paid nearly £200 for a year of lessons in the same class. He is only five years old and likes routine and has seen other children go to different classes but yet he has remained. I am very annoyed by this as I could have used the money and got a private instructor in another pool and he would have been passed. I feel like my money has been taken but halo has not improved service knowing the 1st instructor left a few months ago which should have been arranged asap for the children's swimming development. I will be emailing trading standards and sending this email and feedback form as well as every direct debit. He has been passed from pillar to post for months and hardly ever has the same instructor as previous week so has to start simple swimming all over again. I will be requesting a refund on last few months as has not provided a genuine service for my child.

Response from Pyle Swimming Pool:

I apologise for the inconsistency of teachers on a Thursday, this post has been advertised since Joanne left our centre but unfortunately we have been unsuccessful in filling this position to date.

All our instructors that cover lessons are fully qualified and teach the expected standards halo require, we have recently changed over from ASA standards to Swim Wales standards where the criteria have changed slightly but will benefit the children's progression in the higher levels. The new criteria can be found on the swimming lesson notice board in reception or I can forward you a copy if you prefer. Once all the system is set up and in place feedback will be available to each parent with their child's access code for the portal.

With regards to your child being asked to sit out of the water I am unable to comment on this until speaking to the members of staff involved. Please could you let me know your child's name and I can look into this matter, and we can look at solving these issues.

If you require anymore information in the meantime please do not hesitate to email me directly and I will be more than happy to help.

Report a concern   September 20, 2017 — Rated 4 out of 10 by M.P. Pyle Swimming Pool
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

I achieved want I wanted to at Pyle but the whole place is very tired in equipment, showers, toilets and changing rooms. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The venue could well do with a make over to be more inviting and have a cleaner feel about it.

Response from Pyle Swimming Pool:

I would like to thank you for your recent feedback, we are always looking for ways to improve our services to our customer and take every comment on board to try and achieve this. I'm sorry you felt this way when visiting our centre.

Cleanliness is a massive part of our daily routine and we aim to achieve high standards and when things are not up to standard our staff like to know so they can be solved.

I can confirm we are having a makeover in the gym area in November which includes paint work and new machines.

If you have any concerns or comments you would like to share in the future please let a member of staff know where we will be happy to help.

Report a concern   September 20, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by E.D. Pyle Swimming Pool
What do you like about our services?

friendly, helpful staff.

Response from Pyle Swimming Pool:

We always like to hear positive comments about our staff and this feedback will be lead back to the team.

If you have any concerns or comments you would like to share in the future please let a member of staff know where we will be happy to help.

Report a concern   September 20, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by S.P. Pyle Swimming Pool
What do you like about our services?

The staff are so friendly and helpful.

Response from Pyle Swimming Pool:

We always like to hear positive comments about our staff and this feedback will be lead back to the team.

If you have any concerns or comments you would like to share in the future please let a member of staff know where we will be happy to help.

Report a concern   September 20, 2017 — Rated 5 out of 10 by N.L. Pyle Swimming Pool
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

Lovely, very knowledgable teachers. I would recommend the lessons based on friendliness of staff and the fact my children are happy to attend, however large class sizes make progress very slow.

Response from Pyle Swimming Pool:

We always like to hear positive comments about our staff and this feedback will be lead back to the team.

I am sorry you feel your children are progressing slowly, I can look further into the space your children have to swim in if you can provide me with their names, class day and time.

Report a concern   September 18, 2017 — Rated 4 out of 10 by D.R.J. Pyle Swimming Pool
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

The equipment needs updating as some things are outdated, the screens for music etc do not work on most pieces of equipment, there are two pieces of equipment that have been broken for at least a week.seems to be regular problems with air con not working.

Response from Pyle Swimming Pool:

I am pleased to tell you we are having a full refurbishment in the gym taking place in November, we are having all new equipment in the gym which will hopefully solve the issues with the televisions. If you experience any problems with the air conditioning during your visit please let a member of staff know and they will be able to solve the problem straight away.

If you have any concerns or comments you would like to share in the future please let a member of staff know where we will be happy to help.

Report a concern   September 16, 2017 — Rated 7 out of 10 by R.E.C. Pyle Swimming Pool
What could we do to improve?

Gym equipment, changing rooms and toilets by reception needs updating

Response from Pyle Swimming Pool:

Thank you for your feedback, Rachel.

I'm sure you'll be happy to hear that we are getting new gym equipment in November, and we also have a freshening up of our changing room planned in the New Year.

I will ensure that your comments regarding our toilets in reception are passed on a recorded.

We hope to see you again soon!


Privacy Policy