The Bankside Health Club
Unit 10 Blue Fin Building
Southwark
London SE1 0SU
United Kingdom

Average rating: 7.5 out of 10 based on 1259 ratings.

What our members think of us!

The following comments were submitted by our customers when asked to provide feedback on our service. In the interest of transparency, we present these comments as provided except that personally identifiable information has been hidden unless the reviewer has requested their full name be included with the review. No unfavorable comments have been removed.

Report a concern   April 29, 2017 — Rated 3 out of 10 by M.B. The Bankside Health Club
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

I pay for the most premium membership but often the Hydro machine is either not working or has the flavours allocated incorrectly.

The showers are often dirty and do not drain correctly.

The front staff are a bit unfriendly

I've been banned from booking classes upon missing a few. When I asked about this, I was not spoken to very politely. Again, an example of slightly unfriendly staff

One thing I would say is that the personal trainers are great and very friendly

Report a concern   April 29, 2017 — Rated 9 out of 10 by D.J. The Bankside Health Club
What do you like about our products and services?

The staff, the PT and the classes.

Report a concern   April 29, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by J.O. The Bankside Health Club
What do you like about our products and services?

Friendly,helpful

Report a concern   April 28, 2017 — Rated 3 out of 10 by A.A. The Bankside Health Club
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

One equating machine (not enough )
Can get a bit too stuffy during peak hours (ventilation?)
Steam room can get way too hot
We need more adduction and abduction machines as the one we have isn't useful

Report a concern   April 28, 2017 — Rated 8 out of 10 by M.Z. The Bankside Health Club
What could we do to improve?

Its sometimes very messy during busy hours. I know you put up the signs for gym etiquette, but I'm pretty sure very few people actually read those. Its very long and wordy and members are just trying to get their workout in. If you replaced those with large text signs with just one phrase on them, like "RERACK YOUR WEIGHT" or something like that, I'm fairly certain it'll be more effective at achieving results than the small text, multipoint signs that are currently up.

Report a concern   April 28, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by L.R. The Bankside Health Club
What do you like about our products and services?

The service is always great, the staff always friendly and apart from the occasional guy trying it on in the steam room, its a pleasant enviroment

Report a concern   April 28, 2017 — Rated 9 out of 10 by E.G. The Bankside Health Club
What do you like about our products and services?

Always a good amount of classes provided

Report a concern   April 28, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by S.B. The Bankside Health Club
What do you like about our products and services?

Its the first gym ive joined that I have actually enjoyed visiting (ive been a member of Virgin, Fitness First, and The Gym Group) none of which provided a good as service as Bankside. Everybody is welcoming and helpful, its always clean and the 30 minute classes are spot on so I can attend during lunch breaks.

Report a concern   April 28, 2017 — Rated 8 out of 10 by L.P. The Bankside Health Club
What could we do to improve?

Nicer changing rooms and showers. Compared to a gym like One Ldn, they are very tired. Cleaner floors throughout the gym as they're often greasy and slippy.

Report a concern   April 28, 2017 — Rated 8 out of 10 by T.J. The Bankside Health Club
What could we do to improve?

The showers are a joke. Despite your attempts to make them better they are still fundamentally rubbish. You can't polish a turd but you have tried! Also another Olympic bar would be great

Report a concern   April 27, 2017 — Rated 7 out of 10 by L.T. The Bankside Health Club
What could we do to improve?

Improve the booking system.
Be a bit stricter with numbers in certain classes. Some of the weights based classes are clearly overly full allowing little room to move which must be a breach of health and safety and affects your workout. This mainly applies to strength and pump. I know that instructors don't have time to take a register but there must be something that can be done.

Also some classes seem to be covered by a temporary instructor on a regular basis rather than the appointed instructor teaching. For example Mondays body pump and balance classes

Report a concern   April 27, 2017 — Rated 4 out of 10 by S.N. The Bankside Health Club
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

It is getting very busy, therefore harder to get on machines. So I think trying to get new people in will only enhance this problem.

Also the air-conditioning in the gym is really bad especially in the morning. Far too stuffy and could be a health hazard, as there is no flow of air when doing classes.

Report a concern   April 27, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by H.J.P. The Bankside Health Club
What do you like about our products and services?

The staff are really friendly, the classes are great and it is by far the best value gym I have ever been too.

Report a concern   April 27, 2017 — Rated 8 out of 10 by H.D. The Bankside Health Club
What could we do to improve?

There is an awful smell in the ladies changing room, that could be coming from the shower area. It would be good if that could be investigated and removed. .

Report a concern   April 27, 2017 — Rated 10 out of 10 by J.W. The Bankside Health Club
What do you like about our products and services?

The health club has a lot to offer for a really good price.

Report a concern   April 27, 2017 — Rated 7 out of 10 by J.B.R. The Bankside Health Club
What could we do to improve?

It's very busy whenever I use the club. Otherwise it's grand

Report a concern   April 26, 2017 — Rated 9 out of 10 by V.M. The Bankside Health Club
What do you like about our products and services?

changing rooms

Report a concern   April 26, 2017 — Rated 7 out of 10 by A.H. The Bankside Health Club
What could we do to improve?

Improve the wifi , add a decline bench press

Report a concern   April 26, 2017 — Rated 5 out of 10 by D.H. The Bankside Health Club
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

Understandably so but it gets very busy. I have recently started back at the gym and from months ago when I last went I see some big differences. 2 treadmills I tried this morning have loose belts - I nearly fell off of one (mentioned to someone there). The 3 tissue dispensers I tried were totally empty today and two were empty on Monday when I was there. Two soap dispensers were empty this morning too. I appreciate it is a busy time (from 7:45ish) but this just never happened before.

Report a concern   April 25, 2017 — Rated 6 out of 10 by J.M. The Bankside Health Club
How did we disappoint you and what can we do to make things right?

It's a niche complaint but since becoming pregnant I unfortunately have decided to end my membership as I don't really feel the club is geared up towards supporting pregnancy. It may be my fault for not making more enquiries, but I had a bad experience with one instructor when I told him (who looked alarmed and told me "you're taking part at your own risk. Now I've warned you.") so it put me off asking any more.
Have to just say though that the teacher of the Tuesday lunchtime yoga class (Clare?) has been lovely - it's just unfortunately it's got to the point where I'm having to do so many modifications I feel it's not working for me any more. (Totally understand this as you can't tailor whole classes to the needs of one individual).


Privacy Policy